Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 12v 12ah batteries  (Read 6592 times)

northsider1

12v 12ah batteries
« on: February 03, 2009, 01:53:52 pm »

HI EVERYONE, I'M NEW TO THIS SITE SO NOT SURE WHERE TO POST THIS QUESTION SO I THOUGHT I WOULD START HERE.
IN THE PAST I HAVE ONLY PURCHASED THE ODD ONE OR TWO PRE-BUILT BOATS JUST TO SEE IF THIS NEW HOBBY WOULD INTEREST ME. AFTER ABOUT 12 MONTHS I DECIDED TO BUILD A PAIR OF WORKING TUGS (IRON SIDER) & (NORTH SIDER) THESE WERE KITS THAT WERE  70% COMPLETE. I HAVE HAD A BREAK FROM BOATS TO PERSUE OTHER HOBBIES BUT NOW AFTER 12 MONTHS I AM BUILDING A BAIT BOAT FOR FISHING IT WILL BE POWERED BY 2x 12V BILGE PUMPS. THE QUESTION I WANT TO ASK IS WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A 12v 7ah   and a 12v 12ah BATTERY ? SORRY IF THIS SEEMS A BIT OF A DAFT QUESTION BUT I'M STILL LEARNING ABOUT THESE THINGS.

MANY THANKS

andyn

Re: 12v 12ah batteries
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 02:10:24 pm »

The ah rating is the capacity of the battery, and usually with SLA batteries the size too, as more cells are needed within the battery to make up the capacity, so your 7ah battery is 7000mah, and your 12ah is 12000 mah, so the bigger battery has 5000mah more. The bigger the number on the same voltage, the longer the battery will last.

Hope this helps :-))

Peterm

• Inactive
  • Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 02:34:56 pm »

Another simple way of looking at it:   If a motor draws 1 Amp when running, a 7Ah battery will keep it going for about 7 hours, a 12 Ah for about 12 hours.  Hope I haven`t tried to oversimplify it.   Pete M
I`m not just old, I`m ancient

northsider1

« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2009, 04:21:25 pm »

THANKS  andyn AND Peterm    :-)) :-)) YOU COULD NOT HAVE MADE IT EASIER FOR ME. SIMPLE REALLY WHEN YOU PUT IT LIKE THAT.