Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Paint Finish  (Read 10079 times)

Tralee

• Full Mayhemer
Paint Finish
« on: October 18, 2006, 10:20:03 am »

As I am new to modelling i would like some advice on painting an ABS model.
I am in the process of constructing a Robbe Najade model and enquireas to whether or not this ABS hull requires and undercoat before the final coat of paint. Any help from fellow modellers would be appreciated

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: Paint Finish
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2006, 01:56:01 pm »

You will need a primer.
I assume you will be using acrylic paints. There is another thread on here about paints and Halfords cans seem to be a favourite choice.

You should also key the hull the sandpaper to help the paint stick.
320 grad sandpaper should do it.

But I am sure you will get a wealth of advice on here, try trawling throught some of the other threads as well.

Good luck :)
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Stavros

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2006, 11:15:22 pm »