Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Mast Navigation lights  (Read 20039 times)

ruffair

Mast Navigation lights
« on: February 17, 2007, 03:43:40 pm »

Sorry for the newbie question.  My tug has a mast with three light fittings on it.  What colour should the lights be?

Thanks

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: Mast Navigation lights
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2007, 03:49:23 pm »

Sorry for the newbie question.  My tug has a mast with three light fittings on it.  What colour should the lights be?

Thanks

A guess

Red on the left (port)
Green on the right (Starboard)
And white on top.

PS All questions are equally valid on this forum. So welcome. :)
I was a newbie recently. But I have learned a lot by doing things the hard way :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

Bryan Young

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2007, 04:07:05 pm »

Thanks
all mast lights on tugs are white(clear). only sidelights are coloured. there are a few exceptions such as being aground,not under command etc. Bryan Young, master mariner.
Notes from a simple seaman

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2007, 04:13:28 pm »

Two lights are shown by a tug with a tow under 200m in length, three for 200m and upwards. (the "tow" is the lenth of the vessel being towed and not the length of the towrope plus vessel.)

chromedome

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2007, 08:16:57 pm »

Yes all 3 are clear

Kaskazi

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2007, 08:40:19 pm »

Two lights are shown by a tug with a tow under 200m in length, three for 200m and upwards. (the "tow" is the lenth of the vessel being towed and not the length of the towrope plus vessel.)

So does it follow that a tug without tow shows only one light on the mast?

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2007, 08:57:38 pm »