Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Twitching and 'failsafe'  (Read 10051 times)

NFMike

• Full Mayhemer
    • Plague Marine Services
Twitching and 'failsafe'
« on: September 11, 2012, 11:42:23 am »

Right, I'm new to RC, though not to modelling or interference suppression, so bear with me. I have had a trawl for info but not really found anything to help me here.

Long and involved 'story so far':-
Twin prop kit, two MFA 6:1 geared motors, 12V SLA battery, fusegear and ESCs from ACTion (1 combo twin/mixer for propulsion in mode 3, 1 straight esc for bow thruster), Hitec 485 servo for rudder, Giant Shark T4U tx/rx pair (2.4GHz). The tx is in mode 2, the rudder is l/r on the right stick and CH1, throttle is up down on left stick, thruster is l/r on left stick.

When I was installing the rudders and servo I did a trial hook up of the battery, rx, rudder servo and tx. No ESCS or motors. It worked fine except the servo had a more or less continuous twitching - not a lot of motion but clearly audible and visible.
I've now got the rest of the kit installed (but just the bare motors - no propshafts, etc. installed) and have been testing. I did have some problems with motor interference but I think I've got that handled now. What I'm left with is, well, unexplained.

It appears that the twitching is still present and is affecting all the channels. With the throttle at 0 (all motors are stopped) not only does the rudder twitch as before, but the motors and bow thruster do as well. The motors sometimes twitch in opposite directions (the LEDs on the ACTion fuse boards tell this) which could/would be the steering channel via the mixer, but also sometimes in the same direction which must be the throttle channel. The bow thruster LED also shows twitching.