Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hello all - an introduction  (Read 4298 times)

grendel

• Full Mayhemer
Hello all - an introduction
« on: September 27, 2012, 07:53:48 pm »

Hi all - just joined so I thought I should introduce myself.
I have made  models in the past and by trade I am a CAD draughtsman, so plans hold no mysteries to me.
I am leading up to the possible build of a 1/12 or 1/24 scale model of a classic 40 foot wooden norfolk broads cruiser.
the interesting part is that I have had a quick visit to the boat and taken a few photos and a few datum measurements so I can scale off the photos.
from this I drew up a set of plans (in 3d CAD). once I  had the CAD drawings and extracted the sections at the bulkheads I decided that I needed to physically construct the hull (well half hull) to check the flow of the planking and curves.
This is the stage I am at now, the half hull model has been made out of odd scraps of cardboard I had lying round at a scale of 1/20.
Grendel (Peter)

grendel

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Hello all - an introduction
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2012, 08:11:56 pm »

as you no doubt can tell, cardboard probably isnt the best material for constructing a hull, the glue softens it and causes all sorts of bubbling etc.
the upside of t he model is that the boat owner , having seen it, invited me aboard for a weekend so that I can more accurately get the measurements I need to refine the model and to gain insight on the construction techniques.
I started drawing the plans for two reasons, one is that  having been made redundant at the end of last year it was a good project to keep my drawing skills in hand and up to date and that secondly I promised that if I had a chance I would knock out a set of plans as th owner is such a nice guy and will drive 4 hours down to his boat just to go and help anyone.