Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Another newbie needing help with a childhood relic  (Read 1813 times)

zephyr

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Another newbie needing help with a childhood relic
« on: December 07, 2012, 07:54:27 pm »

I am the latest newbie here, but I have been one for more than 40 years as that is how long my Nor-star Waverider has been awaiting completion. It is basically complete, but has no running gear installed and nor do I have any. However before I part with all the necessary dosh to power and control it I want to be sure that the boat is going to stay intact and afloat!

Whilst I recall that I was fairly pleased with my efforts at the time I have to say that the build quality is unlikely to impress many today and it has had the odd knock whilst in dry dock!. However I do now want to finish this project and I am itching to start. I am going to redo the paintwork and have started to sand away the old paint, but before I consider reapplying any I need to consider the following:-

1.    Whilst the ply skins show no sign of coming away from the keel, chine and gunwales (I do hope those terms are correct), they have sprung away from the bulkheads (I suspect that they were never properly affixed when I was a young teenager). I believe that I can fix this with some modern superglue. I then intend to apply a seal of epoxy on the inside where the skins join the keel and chines to be doubly sure that they are properly secured. I really do not want to remove the skins. Any comments please?

2.    I always understood that the parts, being made of marine ply were waterproof and that as such, other than a good paint job there was no need to further waterproof the hull. Am I correct? Again I do not want to remove all of the paint just rub it back so that I am not ashamed of it in public.