Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to model making...Making a list for beginners  (Read 2706 times)

junglelands

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
New to model making...Making a list for beginners
« on: May 09, 2013, 03:41:23 pm »

Hi, My name is David "Davy" i'm from Armagh North of Ireland. I'm completely new to model making. I was just wondering if there is a list of essential tools that model maker need, example which masking tape is best, what tools you will need for planking are some glues better than others, if you get to much glue on brass etching how or what do i clean it with also what is the best way to fill small gaps in brass etching,wood and plastic. That's the type of questions i really need to know, i look at photo's of models being build put don't know the names of the tools the builder is using. So if anyone has any ideas about a list please post it..Thanks for all your help.
                                                                                                                                                      :-))

rmaddock

• Full Mayhemer
Re: New to model making...Making a list for beginners
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2013, 03:58:23 pm »

I think you're asking for a list of a very BIG subject.

Perhaps you could narrow down the field of interest a bit?  Do you have an ideas of what sort of model you'd like to build?  Then people might be able to give you a list - which is a good idea.

The sorts of things required for a scratch built wooden yacht are very different to those required for a, for example, all in plastic kit from Billings.

Welcome to the hobby though but be warned!  It can get to you  %%

Robert

eddiesolo

• Full Mayhemer
  • Shiver me timbers...I've spilt me glue!
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2013, 04:21:36 pm »