Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Prop to shaft attachment.  (Read 1642 times)

lakesidebob

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Prop to shaft attachment.
« on: June 20, 2013, 10:46:04 pm »

Hi All,could someone give me advice,as i am a newbie.I have a second  hand Model Slipway Rescue boat i am putting gear in,2.4 etc but have discovered the prop.is just a push fit onto the shaft ie.no screw thread and lock nut,the shaft is only small.What would be the best way to attach/glue in on,plastic to metal? I am a bit doubtful and can quite see it becoming detached in the middle of the lake.Many thanks in anticipation.Bob.

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Prop to shaft attachment.
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 09:50:39 am »

Epoxy
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Shipmate60

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2013, 10:47:18 am »

New shaft and threaded prop.

Bob
Officially a GOG.

Stavros

« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2013, 02:20:04 pm »

As it is a second hand boat are you totally sure it is a press fit onto the shaft ????   Is there any chance of you posting us a picture of the shaft....I have a funny feeling what you are seeing is the remains of the old prop...ie the brass threaded ferrule that the prop is bonded to....have you tried twisting it off with a pair of pliers to try and turn it off ...just a thought

Dave

lakesidebob

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2013, 05:28:44 pm »