Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sinking Model Titanic  (Read 2505 times)

johnben

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Sinking Model Titanic
« on: December 31, 2013, 11:24:48 am »

Hi Folks,
I wonder if I can trespass on your knowledge, sometime next year I hope to build a rough hull based on Titanic in order to prove/disprove a theory I have about the ship. Basically the theory revolves around the vessel steaming astern in a starboard circular arc.I have purchased a 1:400
damaged model of the ship and plan to cut the deck off so I can insert  the bulkheads, however the model looks like it it is made from a hard plastic or resin and I am not sure I can fit two
small motors in there to drive the astern propellers. I am new to this sort of thing.Is there any recommended basic reading on the subject as I am unsure on a number of points e.g by reducing the size of the ship to the ratio of 1:400 does this mean that the top speed, of 24 kn would be reduced by the same amount? If anyone is interested in how I have reached this point please see here, but beware it's a lot of reading:

www.encyclopedia-titanica.org/forums/collision-sinking-theories/31706-did-titanic-have-sink.html

Thanks John

Top entry fails....  try this one.    Ken

http://www.encyclopedia-titanica.org/forums/collision-sinking-theories/31706-did-titanic-have-sink.html

Martin (Admin)

• Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Sinking Model Titanic
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2013, 02:06:43 pm »

Fonts resized - Admin  :-)
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!" -  Visit the Mayhem FaceBook Groups!  &  Giant Models

cos918

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2013, 04:11:13 pm »

Hi john
look at this link to deans forum
http://www.deansmarine.co.uk/index.php?topic=6.0

john

NFMike

• Full Mayhemer
    • Plague Marine Services