Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New member from County Durham  (Read 2158 times)

GrayWanderer

• Shipmate
  • Beginning to learn
New member from County Durham
« on: January 09, 2014, 10:58:54 pm »

Hi,

A real beginner here as I am just starting my second model boat.  The first was a kit of the SS Talacre which took a lot more work than I ever thought.  Mostly because I would construct part of the ship, then a few other parts then decide what I had dome earlier was not good enough.  Learned a lot though.

Then I bought a model of the minesweeper Sir Kay.  Unfortunately we were flooded about then and the kit lay gathering dust for 2 years.  I was just about to start on it when I saw an article in a model magazine about a scratch built monitor the Sir Clive.  At the same time I read an article about the Cerberus and was hooked.  So my second model is being scratch built using the basic design of the Sir Clive but trying to be as close as possible to the Cerberus.  I cannot seem to keep my hands off it.  Not sure if I am going for remotely controlled turrets yet.

Two bits of advice if anyone can help.  First does anyone know of a model shop in the North East which sells useful model boat parts.  My local shop is focused on cars and trains and apart from paint etc is not much help.  Materials for construction and decking are particularly scarce.  Secondly if anyone knows of the location of some decent detail photos of the Cerberus would be great.

Cheers
Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rage at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

vnkiwi

• Full Mayhemer
Re: New member from County Durham
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2014, 01:51:20 am »

Hi GrayWanderer,
is this the Cerberus your looking for?

www.cerberus.com.au

cheers
vnkiwi
If it ain't broke. Don't fix it !

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer