The Shipyard ( Dry Dock ): Builds & Questions > Pleasure boats, Sports, Race, Power and Leisure Boats:

Building a Dumas Chris Craft Runabout kit

(1/17) > >>

SailorGreg:
I recently purchased this kit from a fellow Mayhemer (thanks Mark) who had decided he was never going to get around to putting it together.  It is a few years old, and I don’t know how it compares with the kit you buy today, so some of my comments as we go through the build might not apply to a modern kit. (But of course they might!)

I plan to build this pretty much out of the box, although there are a few mods I hope to make as I go along.  I have read a lot of build threads elsewhere of this type of boat, although they are few and far between here on MBM.  My only previous significant model boat building has been my steam launch (http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,41151.0.html) and I have never built a model boat kit before, so this is going to be an interesting ride.  If there is anyone out there who has experience of Dumas kits, please feel free to chip in.  O0

Having sorted through the box of bits (all present and correct), the first step is to produce a building board.  Mine is from 20mm MDF and is marked out as instructed in the Dumas instructions.

Well, that was easy.  Next is separating the diecut frame and keel parts from the plywood sheets.  I have to say I have seen better quality ply in my time, and I picked up a few splinters during this process (including one down a finger nail – ouch!   >:-o )  Other than that the pieces came out pretty easily with a sharp scalpel, although at this stage some are pretty fragile as I found out.  Still, nothing a drop of CA can’t fix.

I also came across a potential issue with the frames.  I put two marks on each of the frame position lines to allow me to get the frame central (something the Dumas instructions don’t suggest) and then found when I put the frames to these marks that the keel slot was off-centre.