Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 4 prop propulsion query  (Read 4774 times)

drover

• Full Mayhemer
4 prop propulsion query
« on: September 13, 2014, 12:43:41 pm »

I'm beginning to think of a new project to start. I'm an experienced builder of static models but very naive when it comes to working models. I have built and glad to say successfully sailed a Clyde Puffer but my only other two working models have been sail driven. After seeing a model of a WWI destroyer in a museum I have for a long fancied building one and am considering doing this as a working model. The puffer with its single prop did not present me with any problems, but the destroyer has four props and as a novice I'd like to know a bit more about the propulsion side of the build before making a final decision.

For instance is it necessary to have all props powered or can it be set up with just two being driven by the motor (I'm assuming a single motor and gearing would be best given that at 1:48 scale the boat will be about 1200mm long, 130mm in the beam ). Any other advice, book recommendations etc,  relating to the "engine room" much appreciated.

Thanks

hmsantrim

• Full Mayhemer
Re: 4 prop propulsion query
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2014, 01:17:41 pm »

Hi Drover.
 from reading the blurb you don`t seem to be too bothered about the scale underwater appearance. SO! if you want to make it a single shafter go for it if it makes sailing easier.  I dont expect you will be entering any competitions so you can use the ubiquitous "modellers licence" with the engineroom design.   

frank   

Time Bandit

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2014, 01:57:28 pm »

I would at least use 2 props.
Those tight destroyer hulls have problems with their turning radius, so if you use at least 2 motors and a V-mixer you can turn on the spot.