Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Transmitter Options  (Read 3843 times)

Jack D

• Full Mayhemer
Transmitter Options
« on: November 09, 2014, 08:29:51 pm »

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to the model boating hobby, having only been heavily involved in the last few years. But today I've taken the (foolhardy) step of ordering a 212 from Engel (I did do a fair bit of research and I've played with one before).

Problem is, I don't have a transmitter capable of handling the trim and ballast tank unless I want my journey underwater to be very short indeed (2.4ghz).

Ideally I'd need something at 40MHz with two proportional sliders and some extra switches for lights etc or multi tank trim if I ever decide to get a larger sub. I'm already aware of the F-14/16 and I'm impressed with them having used one before, but I'm wondering if there are any alternatives or recommendations out there.
It will be a couple of months before the sub is ready to hit the water in anger anyway so there's no great hurry.

Thanks for taking a look if you've got this far  :-)

TomHugill

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Re: Transmitter Options
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2014, 08:37:34 pm »

Jack I'm looking forward to seeing how you get on with your 212a. I'm very tempted to get one for myself. Function wise if I get one I'll be using a robbe f14 with the piston tank on a linear slider. For my other subs I have the hydro planes on the right stick up and down, rudder on the right stick left and right, front planes on a knob for trimming and ballast tank control on the left stick left and right.

Subculture

• Full Mayhemer
    • Dive-in to Model submarines
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2014, 08:38:37 pm »

Some people are using the 433mhz modules with modern radios in the States. The modules can be configured to 459mhz which is the legal frequency for use here in the UK.