Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Good evening....  (Read 2167 times)

Ian f

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Good evening....
« on: February 23, 2015, 07:11:46 pm »

Good evening,

If been looking around a little and wow what a great place for info, infact information overload. I am brand new to this, I'm looking to start off with something kind of "easy" but nothing to simple as I want a bit of a challenge, my problem is I'm having trouble at finding a starting point..... I was thinking of something like a plastic model kit & converting it? If anyone has any starting points/pointers then all advice would be welcome! Like I said I'm a complete novice! Thanks for taking the time to read this as you're probably asked this on a regular basis. Thanks again

Fastfaz

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Good evening....
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2015, 07:18:12 pm »

Welcome to the forum,
       Loads of great advice and help on here. Rather than a plastic kit conversion have you thought about going for a full kit? If you like tugs have a look at Mobile Marine Models (nice stuff), Model Slipway there are quite a few good manufacturers out there. Bring up some club websites and have a look at their galleries I am sure you will find what you like. Hope this helps.
       Cheers,
           Peter. :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-)) :-))

Ian f

• Shipmate
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2015, 06:49:57 am »

Thank you very much..... There's so much choice it's just a case where to start now! Another newbie stupid question the wood used in building I am assuming is balsa wood or is it something else?

malcolmfrary

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2015, 09:17:23 am »

For a plastic kit, there really isn't a better one than the Revell Snowberry.  It's a nice size, lots of detail provided, conversion is simple but needs a bit of thought and still a very reasonable price.