Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Introduction from a newbie  (Read 2522 times)

DannyH

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Introduction from a newbie
« on: August 02, 2016, 11:28:47 pm »

Hello there!

I don't know if this the the correct place to post this, but I just thought I'd introduce myself, as I'm a newbie to the forums.

My name is Danny, I'm 21 and from Manchester. I've always been a fan of building models, admittedly only Airfix/Revell kits and the occasional card kit (for a model railway) so far, due to cost and space restraints. I also have a strong attachment the the R.N.L.I and its boats, so inevitably when looking for model kits of R.N.L.I lifeboats (other than the Airfix Severn Class kit) I came across the kits offered by companies like Model Slipway and Speedline Models - the Tamar Class in particular. I can't remember when I first saw them, but I must have only been mid-teens and there was no way I could have afforded them, or built them if I was honest. But having recently rediscovered them, I've decided to look into it more seriously.

I'm aware that due to my limited modeling experience, kits of this level are probably way beyond my capabilities at the moment, but my interest has been piqued and I've been reading up more about building models/RC boats like these - and that is how I came across these forums in fact, and I'm sure with the fantastic models I've seen on here, I'm in the right place for guidance and advice.

So, I was wondering...how did others get started in this hobby? Are there any recommended kits for people like me who are essentially beginners, that could help me build up to what I'm guessing are the more complex kits? And as a side question, does anyone know if there are any R.N.L.I Tyne Class kits around? Hands down my favourite class in the fleet but couldn't see any model kits around.