Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HELP with servo travel  (Read 1994 times)

Rottweiler

• Full Mayhemer
HELP with servo travel
« on: March 18, 2017, 03:35:06 pm »

Having trouble to get my servo to turn as far as needed.if I turn it by hand,I have a full 180 degree turn,but when using my radio,it will not traverse half that
I would appreciate how in simple terms I could alter this please?Thanks
Mick F

boat captain

• Full Mayhemer
Re: HELP with servo travel
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2017, 03:42:42 pm »

One answer would be to fit a Action Servomorph.
Joe
Liverpool MBC Committee Member

roycv

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2017, 03:49:26 pm »

Well, if you know a little electronics and can solder then you could extend the feedback potentiometer by connecting a 1K resistor at each end point and then connect the resistors to where the pots were connected.  This will extend the travel.
If you are not sure what I am talking about do not do it. Take the advice of the previous contributor.
regarss Roy

HMS Invisible

• MICROGYROS.COM
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Yes, it works!
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2017, 03:52:44 pm »

Well, if you know a little electronics and can solder then you could extend the feedback potentiometer by connecting a 1K resistor at each end point and then connect the resistors to where the pots were connected.  This will extend the travel.
If you are not sure what I am talking about do not do it. Take the advice of the previous contributor.
regarss Roy

A youtube demo of exactly what Roy describes
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IJgPpZmaFl0
< All manner of contact methods over to the left.

Netleyned

• Full Mayhemer
    • cleethorpes mba
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2017, 03:59:52 pm »

Does your radio have end point adjustment Mick?
You should be able to extend the operating range
somewhat with that.
I think Component shop may do a 360 degree servo.