Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need some expert opinions on this restoration please  (Read 2939 times)

Oh How Original

• Full Mayhemer
  • A noob learning.
    • RC Fun Everyday
Need some expert opinions on this restoration please
« on: January 05, 2017, 06:40:25 pm »

So, I recently started a thread about buying a boat I fancied restoring back to some former glory, my goal was to have a slow moving, effecient boat, to use with my action cams at the lake for some onboard footage of the yachts and other stuff.
Unfortunately, it's arrived and it's a bit more past it than I thought, the pictures below show most of the story.
This isn't really the sellers fault and I don't have a huge amount of money into it, I feel the motor is probably worth what I paid, so with that in mind, I wanted to ask you chaps some advice, firstly, I have limited knowledge on boats in general and wood work, do you think this is a bit more than I can chew?
I honestly expected it to need a clean up, some yacht varnish, paint it where needed, wire up the electrics properly, add some accessories and that would be fine, but it's cracked in several places, with some wood even missing from parts.
What do we think?

Oh How Original

• Full Mayhemer
  • A noob learning.
    • RC Fun Everyday
Re: Need some expert opinions on this restoration please
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2017, 06:49:24 pm »

Also forgot to say, I wasn't quite sure where to put this post  :embarrassed:

boatmadman

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2017, 06:58:45 pm »

Nothing too horrendous there.
Paintwork - rub back with wet/dry (do it wet) to get a nice flat finish, no need to go all the way back to the wood everywhere. Where the paint has peeled away, rub it down until you get a 'feather edge' transition from paint to wood.