Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi from Portsmouth  (Read 2430 times)

Gypsyfella

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Hi from Portsmouth
« on: May 18, 2017, 12:14:41 pm »

Firstly I'd like to say thank you for letting me join this forum and secondly the very welcoming email from Ken Churchill (Tug Kenny).

I have recently come into the possession of a larger than expected rc model boat 'Cap Domingo'. It was bought for my father-in-law as a father’s day present next month but needs a little tlc to bring it to a level that will be appreciated. As I have been married to his daughter for twenty years I have got to know my father-in-law quite well and I am aware that although he is a very clever and well educated man, his DIY and practical skills are non-existent (just ask his wife)! So as I am a maintenance engineer by trade, I have taken it upon myself to bring the model back to its former glory.

My only prior experience in the modelling world was Airfix models when I was a kid. When I reached a certain age, my interests turned to alcohol and the beautiful female form (I apologise to any ladies if I offend). So when I collected this model I had no intention of keeping it but as I have cleaned and tinkered away over the past week, I have kind of fallen in love with the boat. I also find it a calming and enjoyable couple of hours after sometimes a long and stressful day and it has the added bonus of getting me away from all the nagging that often comes with the beautiful female form (again I apologise)!