Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Caldercraft puffer - Saved from the breakers  (Read 8537 times)

MrP1986

• Full Mayhemer
Caldercraft puffer - Saved from the breakers
« on: June 08, 2017, 12:40:04 am »

Well, saved from the local tip. I rescused her, brought her home and have begun restoring the Caldercraft Northlight puffer.
This post is as much for others interest as it is for me to ask questions when I get stuck, as this is my first attempt at a model boat.

Here are some pictures of when I first got her and another hull (which turned out to be the tug Sun XXI) and after stripping her fittings off. Poor girl was in a dreadful state.

derekwarner

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Caldercraft puffer - Saved from the breakers
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2017, 12:59:15 am »

Well MrP .......I think you have had a very lucky day at the tip  :o

Firstly the Northlight......a possible suggestion is to full strip all of the paint work [water based green?] don't be afraid.......am sure a Member will suggest a suitable chemical cleaner

From there, lets see what you have ......

The Sun XX1 should be a separate plan............

Derek
Derek Warner

Honorary Secretary [Retired]
Illawarra Live Steamers Co-op
Australia
www.ils.org.au

Corposant

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2017, 11:43:33 am »

Hi Mr P,

This has the the promise of a fascinating "re-build" log! Please post lots of pictures.  :-)

The original builder's deviations from the plan are intriguing - perhaps based on personal experience of a puffer. We'll never know!

Congratulations on rescuing her!

Regards,
               Mike

MrP1986

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2017, 01:47:35 pm »

Hello again!