Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Launch suggestions for Cheddar Pintail  (Read 2926 times)

Beazld

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Launch suggestions for Cheddar Pintail
« on: September 11, 2017, 03:36:56 am »

Greetings, I am kind of new to boats, I have been building model aircraft (RC, FF, CL) for 30+ years. I have built a Pat Tritle design boat from plans and a Springer tug from Zipp Kits. I have become fascinated by steam launches and want to try my hand at one. I have been researching all I can on line and lurking here and RG Groups. I recently was able to pick up a NIB Cheddar Delux Pintail steam plant kit.  Now I need to find a suitable mount.  I purchased a set of plans for the Choupette (~37") from Trapplet shortly before their demise, I also got a set of plans for Ruby (~38") from Selway-Fisher and a set of plans for Puffin Muffin (54" too big for the Pintail I'm sure).  In all of the experts opinion, would either the Choupette or Ruby work with the Pintail?  The Krick Alexandra has been suggested, but I am somewhat leery of ABS hull and steam boiler not getting along together too well. What should I be looking for in a suitable hull?  Is it size? Weight? Draft? Beam? All the above? 
There are no model boat clubs in my area and no steamers to my knowledge so I am kind of a lone voice crying in the wilderness, and any advise will be greatly appreciated.
Dave

livesteam

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Launch suggestions for Cheddar Pintail
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 06:59:35 am »

G  The Krick Alexandra has been suggested, but I am somewhat leery of ABS hull and steam boiler not getting along together too well.