Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: P94 combo with MFA 800s  (Read 533 times)

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 479
  • Location: Cornwall
P94 combo with MFA 800s
« on: October 30, 2017, 06:43:36 AM »

Hi,

Looking for some guidance on setting up the P94 Dual Esc And Mixer from the component shop.

I have two MFA 800s with a 12v SLA, I am trying to set it up in mode 4 on the P94, either way I get very little proportional throttle movement from start up and even on max throttle there is little to distinguish between slow, medium or fast.

Any thoughts appreciated.

Regards,

Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

T33cno

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Member of Kirklees MBC & Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Leeds
    • Kirklees MBC message board
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2017, 07:18:45 AM »

Have you adjusted it with the screw
Logged
ANDY
A silk purse from a pigs ear maybe but you can't polish a Richard the III'rd
EDIT but you can roll it in glitter
All pictures hosted by SmugMug at my expense

Kirklees MBC message board http://bkirkleesmbc.runboard.com

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 479
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2017, 07:24:17 AM »

Hi,

Yes done all that, tried every combination.
Logged
Regards,

Rich

T33cno

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Member of Kirklees MBC & Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Leeds
    • Kirklees MBC message board
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2017, 03:15:22 PM »

Are you looking at the dip switches the right way on/off
I canít think of anything else
Logged
ANDY
A silk purse from a pigs ear maybe but you can't polish a Richard the III'rd
EDIT but you can roll it in glitter
All pictures hosted by SmugMug at my expense

Kirklees MBC message board http://bkirkleesmbc.runboard.com

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,003
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2017, 03:54:36 PM »

What radio set are you using?


Bob
Logged
PFC, down but not out

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 479
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2017, 04:19:37 PM »

Hi Bob,

Spectrum DX5, I had wondered whether it might me the radio set  {:-{

Regards,

Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

T33cno

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,221
  • Member of Kirklees MBC & Balne Moor MBC
  • Location: Leeds
    • Kirklees MBC message board
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2017, 05:23:28 PM »

Logged
ANDY
A silk purse from a pigs ear maybe but you can't polish a Richard the III'rd
EDIT but you can roll it in glitter
All pictures hosted by SmugMug at my expense

Kirklees MBC message board http://bkirkleesmbc.runboard.com

chas

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 221
  • now in los montesinos Spain.
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2017, 07:44:35 PM »

Just a thought, but have you asked Component shop? They should know about this better than any of us.
Chas
Logged

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,003
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #8 on: October 30, 2017, 08:09:27 PM »

I do know that the P94 had problems with the DX5.
Possibly the neutral point not in its recognised range.
Do you have another set to try it with even if borrowing a 2 channel recognised manufacturers set.


Bob
Logged
PFC, down but not out

rnli12

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 479
  • Location: Cornwall
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2017, 05:29:17 AM »

Yes, I've spoken to the component shop and agree with the set up, so will swap out the rc set this weekend and see what happens.


Will let you know.


Rich
Logged
Regards,

Rich

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,096
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2017, 09:52:16 AM »

Just a thought, have you tried re-binding the Rx ?


John
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,020
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #11 on: October 31, 2017, 05:00:06 PM »

Just a thought, have you tried re-binding the Rx ?


John
An unbound set will not just have restricted performance as described, it will simply sit there and do nothing.  If it is doing something, anything, in response to stick movement, the binding is fine.
Logged
"Trying is the first step towards failure" - Homer (Simpson)

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,096
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2017, 05:08:42 PM »

Hi again, I have 2 dx6i and sometimes if not used for a while on start up the rudder will work
But not the esc, it is as though they go to fail safe mode. After re binding they work fine. It also
Happens with fellow members spectrum sets, so that is why I asked the question.


John
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,020
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: P94 combo with MFA 800s
« Reply #13 on: November 01, 2017, 09:36:54 AM »

In a case like that, rebinding might have reset something else.  Or reset the the transmitter to the identity and settings of the model being controlled.  An unbound radio must do nothing - if it was otherwise then you couldn't have multiple models because everybody would be controlling everybody else's rudder.  On the other hand, a transmitter with multiple memories might easily be switched by accident to another model.
Just the other day I had a much simpler set that had lost its bind - the new owner had not realised that he had two switches and the receiver had been left switched on slowly depleting the battery.  At some stage the battery was replaced, effectively switching it off and on again with no transmitter to talk to because the second ESC switch (the well hidden one) was still on.  At some point while this was going on, it did lose its bind at which point nothing worked.  First re-bind didn't work, another try later on away from a WiFi source succeeded.
Logged
"Trying is the first step towards failure" - Homer (Simpson)
Pages: [1]   Go Up