Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: soldering  (Read 4025 times)

steveo-73

• Shipmate
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
soldering
« on: October 13, 2017, 03:14:58 pm »

Hi fellow boaters,

I haven't been on here for a long time due to family commitments. But now I have the chance again I have put myself back into RC Boating again!!

I'm still a amateur/novice when it comes to this and I have 2 electric boats, one being a Proboat Impulse 31 V2 the other a Proboat Miss Geico 29. My question to you all is one I asked about 3 years ago and apologies too anybody who kindly replied. We had a baby and I never got back to this until now lol.

I live in Peterborough and I would like to change my connectors both on my Lipo Batteries and My boats to EC5 connectors. At the moment my Batteries are EC3s, One Boat is EC3 and the Other is Deans but as I would like to run 6s I've been told that EC5 would be a safer option. So i'm in need of some help with soldering??

I can confess that I am not the best at DIY or Electrical Work so I would really appreciate if their was anybody local to me who would like to help me with my issue. I'm sure I can make it worth your while....

Great to be back

Steve

Ianlind

• Full Mayhemer
Re: soldering
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2017, 06:42:22 am »

G'day steve,

Have you looked at XT60 Connectors? Easy to solder to and as fitted to everything I have in both cars and boats and batteries.

Ian.

Paul2407

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2017, 09:39:09 am »

Like Ianlind says try XT60 connectors, don't be temped with deans connectors I'm quite competant at soldering but those little things are terrible
with any soldering you must use flux on each componant being soldered and get enough heat through the connector as that is the key to any soldering

inertia

« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2017, 10:29:08 am »