Mess Deck: General Section > Beginners start here...!

Dumas Star30 Build

(1/3) > >>

danielcardona:
Hello To everyone

I'm Daniel from Malta, I decided to share here my experience in my building stages of a Dumas Star30. I bought a kit in june if i remember correctly and i decided to give it a go and start something different, It's not my first build in model boating as my first one was a Glynn guest Vosper PT boat (still not finished), an aeronaut Classic (still not tested) and aeronaut Bella (needs sails and RC installation), So yes as you can see never actually finished a complete project but I did tried sailing with a Dragon Force RG65 (Which i still have) and had a lot of fun but this year didn't had a chance to get it in the water.

My main interest actually is RC Aeromodelling and I mostly build from kits or scratch from Plans, with the exception that I finish them and actually fly them successfully  {-) . Anyway...First to point out is that I'm not a professional builder so You may see some mistakes here and there so please be gentle in commenting in my build %), So Upon starting opening the box of the star30 I was a bit disappointing to see that most of the kit is actually DieCut pieces of wood. Nothing wrong actually with DieCut Parts, I build several Sig aircraft Kits which most of them use DieCutting, but with this Dumas Kit the quality was very poor at least IMO.

I started first making Templates for any future builds as the plan doesn't show the full formers and hull sides etc

danielcardona:
all bulkheads are lightply (poplar)and the sides ,bottom and deck are mahogany sheets of around 1 or 1.5mm. the keel is a piece of stainless steel sheet permanently attached between two lightply keelson with epoxy glue and two bolts and nuts (picture in previous post)