The Shipyard ( Dry Dock ): Builds & Questions > Any Other Builds

Bridge and Boat Diorama

(1/8) > >>

Tinny:

Currently 2/3 through a maritime based diorama.
There are many photographs, so I plan to download some everyday until I catch up to where I am in the project.

Last year the Ballina Naval & Maritime Museum (NSW, Australia) acquired the original console (1964-1995) for the nearby Wardell Lift-Span Bridge. They wanted someone to convert the console to operate a model bridge. To cut the long story short, I was requested to do the conversion, scratch build the Wardell Bridge, and build a boat to traverse under it. All to be done for an allocated space of 4 x 8 foot display table. In other words, a diorama.

I have never built a model before this project. Have done the electronics side via RAAF Avionics, but that was 30 years ago. At first I could not fathom why they requested me. Then I discovered that the whole museum is run by volunteers and they had nobody silly enough to do it for free. Someone told them I was already a volunteer for another organisation. I guess volunteers don't have trouble volunteering.

There are no available plans or schematics for both bridge and console. So the console had to be reverse engineered, and the bridge was mostly measured by extrapolating photographs. The end result is that the whole bridge can fit across the 8 feet display by using the 1/72 scale.

I am currently building the boat for this project, and it is in the sub-forum _ Beginners start here... Symmetrical Boat

derekwarner:
Peter.....we read of your volunteer work in the Symetrical Hull Build thread.....[I have some extended family of similar age group living in Ballina]