Mess Deck: General Section > Beginners start here...!

Newbie question - rc equipment

(1/6) > >>

GaryC1234uk:
Hi all,

I am a total newbie to the site and also to model boating.

I am considering a yacht kit (possibly Thunder Tiger Victoria II - not decided yet). I will also obviously need to buy a RC TX/RX to complement this - minimum 2 chanels? (rudder and sails) - but is there any advantage in buying a RC with more than 2 channels? - I am wondering if there is scope to add more controls/complexity later .... or am I wasting money? (It looks like a 6 channel RC is not necessarily that much more than a 2 channel). Also is it worth considering a RC that has Frequency-hopping spread spectrum (FHSS) technology to eliminate any chance of interference?

Please be gental - this might be a stupid question (or not) - as I say I am totally new to this !

Thanks in advance.

Gary

Netleyned:
Hi Gary and Welcome to the Mayhem.
You will want to go to a 2.4GHz set.
This will negate frequency clashes.
If you are only going to sail yachts
then 2 channels are sufficient, but to
future proof yourself for the hobby,
then a six channel set is the way to go.
The Victoria is a nice yacht. (I have one)
but the DragonForce 65 is another one
worth investigating.

Ned

Plastic - RIP:
You can get a 6-channel 2.4GHz set for under £30. No point bothering with old 27MHz gear.

Mark T:
There is so much choice and for a fairly modest outlay you can buy a set that will do the job nicely.  It all depends on what you want for your budget?  If you buy a budget set it will work perfectly well and I agree with the comments above about the 2.4Ghz sets.