Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Technobots deisel sound unit.  (Read 556 times)

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,178
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Technobots deisel sound unit.
« on: April 12, 2018, 02:48:37 PM »

Hi guys, there is a problem with my Technobots sound unit, the stop start function has failed
In the way as it starts on power up instead of when the stick is moved, and does not switch off
After no stick movement.(auto shut down)
TX is a Spectrum 7s, end points have been checked and are ok.
Any Ideas?


John
Logged

T888

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 264
  • Location: SOUTHAMPTON
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2018, 04:01:33 PM »

Hi,
Try asking Alan at Forge Electronics to see if he can help.
http://www.forge-electronics.co.uk/
Logged
Regards Dave
In Build ..... Shannon Life boat,KM Graf Spee ,KM Sharnhost
HS Elli,Akizuki?

portside II

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,506
  • tugs at rest
  • Location: Goole.East Riding of Yorkshire.England On the banks of the river Ouse
    • goole model boat club indi site
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2018, 04:27:03 PM »

If that fails give the lads at technobots a call, as its one of their's.
Had mine for yers and still going strong, famous last words  ok2 .
daz
Logged
I like to build my boats to play with, not to just look pretty,so they dont !

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,178
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2018, 07:15:57 PM »

Thanks guys,
Forge Electronics are the people to talk to now as Technobots no longer stock or sell
The Rob Bond sound units and Rob states he now only produces the programmable version.
I will get in touch with him if I can, he may be able to help.


John
Logged

afb

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • its more about wires than wood!
  • Location: Southampton
    • FORGE ELECTRONICS
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2018, 07:47:47 PM »

Shock Horror ! It seems this Rob Bond guy has taken over Forge Electronics without my knowing!  Anyone else heard this? Well don't listen to his untruths - I'm still producing the Combo MK3 which replaces the entry-level diesel, petrol & steam units. The programmable, which I also make, is a different beast altogether. Note that all my products are now sold by ScaleWarship.

https://www.scalewarship.com/store/index.php?route=product/category&path=235

John, the symptoms you describe *could* be caused by your TX and my neutral setting not agreeing with each other (I'm assuming that the engine still revs in sympathy with the throttle). Try resetting neutral on my unit - a single short press of the button should suffice. If for some reason my neutral was grossly out (perhaps an accidental press of button at eg half throttle) it might be prudent to reset the span (details in the instruction leaflet you can download from the Forge Electronics site). If you still have a problem let me know (afbond@gmail.com) and I'll work with you to resolve it.

Alan Bond
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,178
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2018, 09:46:14 PM »

Hi Alan :embarrassed:  sorry about this Rob business, the unit in question is a diesel 3803-210,
Which has no reset button.
Many thanks for your very prompt response but thankfully the problem is solved.
No matter how I adjusted the trim the sound unit would not go to shutdown red light flickering.
So I went into sub trim fine adjustment,after a 15% down adjustment the red light started flickering
Signifiying neutral position hurray.The unit auto shut down worked.
The unit now works perfectly,
Incidentally Alan I have one of your versatile marine sound units with instructions updated in
March 2009 and it still works.it uses 2 pic axe chips via a power fet output




John
Logged

afb

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • its more about wires than wood!
  • Location: Southampton
    • FORGE ELECTRONICS
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2018, 10:09:20 PM »

Hi Graham, it's quite ok about calling me Rob!

Glad to hear you were able to resolve the problem. That was an early unit, never mind your 2009 one! The latest iteration still uses 2 picaxe chips and a power MOSFET output stage, but over the years a ten fold increase in storage capacity of the picaxe chips has allowed me to add many more features and options. 

Alan
Logged

john44

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,178
  • member of the Potteries Model boat club
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2018, 09:39:32 AM »

I will be taking a look at them  O0


John
Logged

portside II

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,506
  • tugs at rest
  • Location: Goole.East Riding of Yorkshire.England On the banks of the river Ouse
    • goole model boat club indi site
Re: Technobots deisel sound unit.
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2018, 11:39:37 PM »

Had a look at the new sound unit , and i must say it looks great,
might have to buy a new one  unless i can get a trade in  :D .
Great units Alan, built to last.
daz
Logged
I like to build my boats to play with, not to just look pretty,so they dont !
Pages: [1]   Go Up