Technical, Techniques, Hints, and Tips > 3D CAD Design & Printing

TurboCAD

(1/3) > >>

SJG001:
I am planing on using a 3d printer to do some modelling work and design - (Anycubic i3 Mega seems to be the front-runner at the moment)

I used to use AutoCAD regularly at work when I was a designer and trained people to use AutoCAD.

I am now looking at CAD packages and the one that fill the requirement closest is TurboCAD (Not wanting to spend £X000/year on a AutoCAD License)

Is there any comments good/bad about TurboCAD ? - any view would be appreciated.

grendel:
get an educational version of AutoCAD, you can sign up as an educator (who teaches people how to use autoCAD, it does have the 'educational stamp - but that doesnt transfer across to the stl model.

https://www.autodesk.com/education/free-software/autocad

SJG001:

--- Quote from: grendel on September 05, 2018, 05:11:14 am ---get an educational version of AutoCAD, you can sign up as an educator (who teaches people how to use autoCAD, it does have the 'educational stamp - but that doesnt transfer across to the stl model.

https://www.autodesk.com/education/free-software/autocad

--- End quote ---

Thanks - Had considered that as an option but rejected it

grendel:
I have had an educational copy for about 10 years now, renewing the version every time a new one comes out - but then I do still train people at work in AutoCAD.

ddmckee54:
For 3D:
Fusion from Autodesk is currently free for hobbyists and would be my recommendation.  I think you've got to register every year but don't remember.