Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Atlas 540 Cruiser  (Read 6024 times)

Greg Vincent

Atlas 540 Cruiser
« on: September 28, 2007, 05:28:51 am »

Hi, I am new to the Mayhem forum. Very cool site.

So far I have converted one New Bright boat to full RC with good results. I am considering the Atlas 540 as my next boat, but the vendors' web sites (MRC and Otherland) do not give all the specifics of the boat. I know at least one member here has it and I have some questions on it:

1. Does the mech. speed control have reverse?
2. The boat as designed takes 2 7.2v batteries. Are these wired in series to double the voltage, or parallel to double the amps?
3. Do the window stickers look better in person than they do in the pics? Same for the brass or gold (not chrome) fittings. In some of the Otherland pics they look crooked.
4. In general, would you recommend this boat? It looks to me like a decent cross between an ABS hulled speedboat and a scale model cruiser.

My other main choice would be a true RTR, the Hobby Engine St. Tropez (formerly by Graupner). Lots more detail and it comes with a good radio, but I would have to spend some more to get a decent battery. Any knowledgeable opinions of this boat are welcome also.

Thanks!

Martin (Admin)

• Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Atlas 540 Cruiser
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2007, 10:40:27 am »

Hi Greg,

Can you post web links for both those boats please and we'll have a look for you.
( NB. We to avoid mechanical speed controllers these days .....!  :) )

Martin.

"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!" -  Visit the Mayhem FaceBook Groups!  &  Giant Models

Greg Vincent

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2007, 05:33:19 pm »