Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Graupner - Azimut Atlantic Challenger  (Read 5856 times)

James321

• Full Mayhemer
  • Model Boat Mayhem is Great!
Graupner - Azimut Atlantic Challenger
« on: October 13, 2021, 05:00:37 pm »

Hey guys, newbie here, both to the forum and to building boats so please go easy on me if I'm making any ridiculous mistakes along the way with this build. I'm an aircraft engineer by trade and have built several rc aircraft so I've been using that knowledge and skill set in this build.

I picked up the kit from eBay, the kit has been previously built and then disassembled but the seller had included the majority of parts needed for the build, pretty much everything except for the bulkheads, structure and deck.  I'm guesstimating the kit is around 20 years old, the running gear and building methods certainly seem from a previous generation but as I said, I've never built a boat so not qualified to answer that. The bow of hull had sustained some damage during shipping which had caused the shape to distort, the hull appeared to have had a previous repair or had been re-skinned at some stage, however the resin was still tacky and didn't appeared to have fully cured. I set about sanding it out which was an experience! If you've never tried sanding uncured resin then I would advise against it, you spend more time de-pinning the sandpaper than removing material.

Once the hull was flattened out enough it was pretty flimsy, a quick order to easy composites had a selection of carbon fibre cloth and resins to put some strength back in the hull. I cut a front deck section out of MDF to help form the damaged hull, applied the carbon fibre and taped the deck section down. 

* no idea how I post pictures on here?

https://flic.kr/p/2mzS8hk

https://flic.kr/p/2mzZLRw

James321

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Graupner - Azimut Atlantic Challenger