Model Boat Mayhem

Technical, Techniques, Hints, and Tips => Other Technical Questions... => Topic started by: lozvik on November 13, 2009, 02:22:15 pm

Title: can i mix radio brands
Post by: lozvik on November 13, 2009, 02:22:15 pm
can i put an acoms servo in a hitec receiver, are the plugs the same size etc??
Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: andygh on November 14, 2009, 12:03:53 am
It will fit yes........... but I've always had problems when using Acoms servos with other manufacturers equipment, maybe it's just me
Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: Wasyl on November 14, 2009, 01:56:47 am
   maybe it's just me

Probably! {-) {-) {-)

Wullie           
Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: stallspeed on November 14, 2009, 11:25:17 am
The joke is on you ,Wullie.

Two folk with Futaba receivers came to me with the same problem.One had an Acoms servo and four alkaline pencells to power the receiver,the other had a Fleet servo and a 5-cell nicd pack for the receiver.

The servos required a minimum signal amplitude which was voltage dependant(>half the supply voltage).Four nicd cells made the servos work,changing back to the higher voltage battery stopped any servo response.



Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: Mankster on November 14, 2009, 11:39:37 am
Acoms servos work fine for me in futaba Rx, hitec and other Rx's. Works both at 4.8 and 6v. Dry cells in AA format can have difficulty supplying enoug current to the rx when you have multiple servo's. Dry C or D cells are fine.
Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: stallspeed on November 14, 2009, 12:06:53 pm
Both instances were a lo........ong time ago and not all receivers and servos have maintained the same spec over the years.
Here (http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=%22Fleet+receivers+have+a+full+5+volt+pulse+output+to+the+normal+CMOS+standard%2C+so+they+should+drive+just+about+any+servo.%22&btnG=Search&meta=&aq=f&oq=) is a similar reference from a Fleet technical bod( highlighted in yellow if you use the cached copy)
It is just something to consider when you do encounter problems.
Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: Martin [Admin] on November 14, 2009, 12:11:19 pm

Most modern servos with work with any Receiver, if as Andy say, 'the plugs fit'.
I think the only exception is some older JR servos had different wiring, but that could easily be changed.

http://fatlion.com/sailplanes/servos.html (http://fatlion.com/sailplanes/servos.html)

(http://file:///C:/Boats/Boats_2004-2006/WWW%20saved/Servos%20Lead%20Wiring%20Diagrams_files/futabaconnector.gif)

(http://file:///C:/Boats/Boats_2004-2006/WWW%20saved/Servos%20Lead%20Wiring%20Diagrams_files/hitecconnector.gif)

(http://file:///C:/Boats/Boats_2004-2006/WWW%20saved/Servos%20Lead%20Wiring%20Diagrams_files/jrconnector.gif)

Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: HS93 (RIP) on November 14, 2009, 12:33:15 pm
and older SANWA servos the ones with the all black leads they pop..

peter
Title: Re: can i mix radio brands
Post by: andygh on November 14, 2009, 04:07:10 pm
My Acoms servos were very old to be fair.
Best way to find out if it works? Try it and see