Model Boat Mayhem

Technical, Techniques, Hints, and Tips => The "Black Arts!" ( Electrics & Electronics ) => Topic started by: hazegry on May 24, 2010, 03:40:09 AM

Title: proboat esc and spektrum dx2 no throttle????
Post by: hazegry on May 24, 2010, 03:40:09 AM
Hey guys got a bladerunner from a guy for 20 bucks so I went and got a 3000nimh batt threw in the proboat and my spektrum radio out of a wrecked 4wd nitro buggy. my problem is I dont get any throttle response at all the motor doesnt move. I direct wired it to the batt and it worked fine. do you guys have any ideas? I did just throw the batt in to test the boat so maybe a good trickle charge will fix the problem. I think it is in the settings on the radio but I am not sure how to set the radio for a boat.
Title: Re: proboat esc and spektrum dx2 no throttle????
Post by: Robert Davies on May 24, 2010, 12:30:10 PM
Sounds like trouble to me....   {:-{

The three ProBoat ESCs that I have had were self setting, all you needed to make sure of was good battery power and switching the TX on before the RX.

Let us know if there's any success with it when you've charged the battery.

One last thought, is there ANY life in the receiver or rudder?

-Rob
Title: Re: proboat esc and spektrum dx2 no throttle????
Post by: hazegry on May 24, 2010, 04:51:52 PM
the rudder works just fine just no throttle response thats why I am hoping its just a tx setting and not a bad esc.
Title: Re: proboat esc and spektrum dx2 no throttle????
Post by: FullLeatherJacket on May 24, 2010, 05:08:18 PM
Try the rudder servo plugged into the throttle output.
FLJ
Title: Re: proboat esc and spektrum dx2 no throttle????
Post by: hazegry on May 25, 2010, 02:11:05 AM
well I managed to get a charge on the batt and I did get it to work for a brief bit. I noticed a bad connection on the motor so I am going to resolder that and give the batt a proper charge and see if it fixes the problem.
Title: Re: proboat esc and spektrum dx2 no throttle????
Post by: hazegry on May 25, 2010, 03:24:23 AM
well batt is fully charged connection is soldered well and still no go. I am going to swap in the esc from another boat tomorrow and see what that does. I think I have a dead channel now to fight with proboat for a new one.
Title: Re: proboat esc and spektrum dx2 no throttle????
Post by: hazegry on June 06, 2010, 06:53:44 PM
I figured it out the bec on the proboat doesn't provide the spektrum with the correct voltage took the bec wire out and it has throttle. I did decide to switch to a conventional radio and boost the boat to 14.4V and put in a new 12t550 motor. I also mounted the ESC on an aluminum plate to help keep it cool.
 (http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/hazegry/2010-06-06125609.jpg)