Model Boat Mayhem

Mess Deck: General Section => Chit-Chat => Topic started by: regiment on November 29, 2012, 03:46:14 pm

Title: sky freesat
Post by: regiment on November 29, 2012, 03:46:14 pm
  have been offered a( freebe) sky box recorder question will it work with my free sat dish with out a card must be a tv buff out there
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: F4TCT on November 29, 2012, 04:21:45 pm
You would need a freesat card from sky (one off payment). The record function (sky +) will not work unless you subscribe to that function (10 per month i think). Not sure over the dish issue but the connectors should be the same. No harm in giving it a go with a full box reset and re-tune.


Dan
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: DavieTait on November 29, 2012, 04:31:03 pm
dish is fine its the same satellite ( changed my mum over from her old SKY box to a freesat box without touching the dish and its the same connector that screws into the back )

FreeSKY card costs about 18 1 off which is what I've got in the house , as Dan says as far as I know the + record feature won't work
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: regiment on November 29, 2012, 06:52:47 pm
thanks for replys think i will save up and buy a free sat recorder cheaper in the long run
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: jaymac on November 29, 2012, 08:00:24 pm
Best site for info on this
http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=30&f=199 (http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?s=&daysprune=30&f=199)
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: F4TCT on November 29, 2012, 08:14:23 pm
Was going to ask is there a reason for going with sky? because you should have the standard channels available on freesat that are on digital, exept of course if you live in pokey places like whitby where half of these channels are missing, such as dave. There simply isnt enough bandwidth on the dvb multiplex for every channel in every town.


Yet another reason why digital doesnt work, thats another story though.


My parents have just gone onto freesat with sky, we had allsorts of channels with 3 HD sky + boxes which was costing them well over 100 per month, they are now playing about 25 for the freesat thing, no recording though...


Dan
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: boneash on November 29, 2012, 08:45:58 pm
If you get the card with the sky box, which is of no use to the donor as they get a new card if they upgrading.. you will have no trouble in connecting to any sat dish and getting the freesat list of programmes. So no Dave or Quest but most of the beeb and itv c4 and 5 channels, and loads of ad ones too.
Ignor demands to plug into a telephone line and all should be easy.
I've had 3 old sky boxes from the kids as they upgrade, keep 2 for backup as freeview can be poor or the aerial blows down, as it did last week in the gales.
The dish is in a more protected area of the house.
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: F4TCT on November 29, 2012, 08:57:36 pm
You get Dave on freesat (through sky), as you do digital freeview.


You should get it on any free service regardless.
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: DavieTait on November 29, 2012, 09:37:47 pm
don't get DAVE on freeSKY you only get it if your a subscriber , also don't get "Yesterday" on FreeSKY even though its on Freeview ( but not freesat for some reason ) unless you subscribe
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: F4TCT on November 29, 2012, 09:47:36 pm
Hmmm i find that interesting.


SKY used to do that aswell, you used to have to pay an extra 1 a month or whatever for each channel you want, yet it was free on digital.


They sharp changed that just over a year ago.


Dan
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: DavieTait on November 29, 2012, 10:25:26 pm
I've never had dave on freesky and I've been using it for 10 years now
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: Rottweiler on November 29, 2012, 11:06:10 pm
I have been on freesat for almost 3 years now,it does give a lot more channels than freeview,and it is working off my old Sky dish.I refused to pay Sky's over the top prices.
 Freeview,if you are a nightbird like me,is a waste of time.Most channels either closing down early,showing shopping channels,or gambling progs.even the ITV 1 cant show some of the programmes "shown earlier because of legal reasons"All this rubbish about "energy conservation"..a lot of people will have set top boxes,which is an extra appliance that is left on standby,as I am sure most of us do.If you turn it off completely,it has got to re tune itself every time it is switched back on.
 
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: boneash on November 30, 2012, 12:28:55 am
My Freeview boxes , standard and recorder ones, are turned off at mains along with tv  sky boxes, except one to maintain heater supply on the sat receiver, and dvd player etc are all turned off with a mains switch feeding a multi socket, to stop the standby load and I have no troubles when turned on the next day or 2 weeks later.
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: NFMike on November 30, 2012, 10:43:09 am
.a lot of people will have set top boxes,which is an extra appliance that is left on standby,as I am sure most of us do.If you turn it off completely,it has got to re tune itself every time it is switched back on.

As boneash says, that is just not true for the majority - just possibly very old units or ones that are faulty (or maybe depend on a battery long needing replacing). Also, the newer boxes and PVRs have a 'low power standby' (partly because of EC regulations) so they only consume about 1 Watt in standby. From that state a PVR can still wakeup and record, so there is no great cost involved in leaving them in standby all the time.
Title: Re: sky freesat
Post by: malcolmfrary on November 30, 2012, 11:05:31 am

One reason for getting freesat is the upcoming 4G cellphone fracas.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-18174052
It seems that there is money to be made by comms companies lead-footing their way into previously allocated broadcast bands.