Model Boat Mayhem

Technical, Techniques, Hints, and Tips => The "Black Arts!" ( Electrics & Electronics ) => Topic started by: Captain Flack on October 27, 2016, 04:05:23 PM

Title: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Captain Flack on October 27, 2016, 04:05:23 PM
I have several "revolving" yellow lights, actually they don't revolve they have 4 leds that light in a circular sequence.  They run off receiver voltage but have 3 wires into them, pos, neg & signal.  My question is how do I switch them, either manually or by a TX controlled switch as the TX switches I have only have the two wires on them and when I tried inserting a manual switch on the positive lead it seemed to wreck the unit.
Any ideas would be greatfully appreciated.
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Martin [Admin] on October 27, 2016, 05:45:27 PM

Do they plug into the Rx like a servo?
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Captain Flack on October 28, 2016, 09:12:31 AM
Yes, they do.
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: inertia on October 28, 2016, 09:19:28 AM
In that case you may find that if you plug them into a channel which has a 2-way (toggle) switch on the transmitter to operate it then that will turn the unit on and off. I've had a look on E-Bay and those advertised seem to "plug into a spare receiver channel" e.g. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RC-Rotating-beacon-AMBER-suit-Tamiya-13mm-dia-x-18mm-high-/301487892001 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RC-Rotating-beacon-AMBER-suit-Tamiya-13mm-dia-x-18mm-high-/301487892001)
DM
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Captain Flack on November 01, 2016, 05:20:47 PM
That doesn't appear to make them work either.  Course that could just be me :-) :-) :-) :-)
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: inertia on November 01, 2016, 05:29:27 PM
That doesn't appear to make them work either.  Course that could just be me :-) :-) :-) :-)

Hence my use of the word "may" and not "should"!
Generally 3-wire leads with receiver-type plugs on the end tend to fit into receivers, like the one I found (above link). Of course the whole thing might just be U/S...  <:(
Looks like it's back to E-bay, m'duck.
DM
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Captain Flack on November 02, 2016, 10:47:35 AM
Sorry, I think we may be at cross purposes here, my fault.  The units do work when plugged into the receiver, no problem.  I want to be able to switch them and can't.  I have them plugged into the gear channel and have set the necessary percentages, or so I believe , on an allocated switch but they still stay on.  I am unable to turn them off/on via a TX switch.
Am I right in assumimg that I should be able to do so or do I need a switcher?

Incidentally, they are exactly the same units as shown in your link.
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Martin [Admin] on November 02, 2016, 11:50:34 AM
 
Try plugging in a servo to the same channel on the Rx, when you flip the switch, does it travel from one end t'uther?
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Captain Flack on November 02, 2016, 02:34:17 PM
Will try that and report back.  Thanks.
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Netleyned on November 02, 2016, 03:08:43 PM
Hurry up  :D


Ned
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Captain Flack on November 03, 2016, 03:47:46 PM
The next thrilling installment {-) {-) {-)

I have plugged in a servo and yes it does move from end to end when the switch is moved.  I don't know if that's a good thing or bad {:-{
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: inertia on November 03, 2016, 04:16:25 PM
That's good for the servo and good for the receiver, but not so good for the beacon.
Try plugging it into a "normal" channel i.e. one with a stick, and move the stick from one extreme to the other, slowly. Does the beacon come on? If so, does the position of the stick have any effect on how it flashes? If not, then it doesn't do what the one on E-Bay allegedly does.
(Sometimes I feel like I'm talking to a puppy; please excuse me if it sounds at all patronising).
DM
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Netleyned on November 03, 2016, 04:21:21 PM
Proves the Tx/Rx works ok on
The channel you are switching.
The Rx is supplying power and
sending a signal to the servo.
Need to look at the sequential
switching on the light unit next
I think.

And wot Dave said O0

Ned
Title: Re: Switches on light circuits
Post by: Captain Flack on November 04, 2016, 05:14:50 PM
Thanks very much to all those who replied.  You certainly pointed me in the exct direction to get this problem sorted.
 
The lights I have are "exactly" the same as the ones in the above link, but when I bought them, a while ago now, there was no mention of the sequential lighting either on the e-bay blurb or on the packaging, so I assumed, wrongly, that they either rotated or not and could not work out why they didn't do that.
 But the problem has now been resolved and once again thanks to all those who took the trouble to post and help me out. :-))