Model Boat Mayhem

Mess Deck: General Section => Chit-Chat => Topic started by: jaymac on May 14, 2020, 07:22:51 pm

Title: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: jaymac on May 14, 2020, 07:22:51 pm
Just installed Malwarebytes premium  free   courtesy of NatWest and  though this site is always labelled  not secure in the address bar  Malwarebytes actually blocks it?
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Martin [Admin] on May 14, 2020, 10:54:31 pm
 
Can you make 'exceptions' in Malwarebytes ?
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: jaymac on May 15, 2020, 09:25:12 am
Sorry  Martin yes you can I only got it as its free for a couple of years :}
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: DaveM on May 15, 2020, 10:37:57 am
I had the free Malwarebyes installed. It was pretty good but I got so fed up with repeated screen prompts to upgrade to the pro version that eventually I uninstalled it. I now use Sophos which runs quietly in the background and doesn't keep pestering me to spend more money!
DaveM
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: jaymac on May 15, 2020, 10:47:28 am
Mines is the premium paid for version but  free from the bank
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Tug Fanatic on May 15, 2020, 11:26:18 am
I have used Malwarebytes free for 20 years!
The only time they ask if I want to upgrade is when a new versions is launched which always has a free 2 week trial of the full version and then asks if you want to pay for the full version of go back to the updated free version. This happens a couple of times a year. Hardly high pressure selling.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: DaveM on May 15, 2020, 01:41:41 pm
I have used Malwarebytes free for 20 years!
The only time they ask if I want to upgrade is when a new versions is launched which always has a free 2 week trial of the full version and then asks if you want to pay for the full version of go back to the updated free version. This happens a couple of times a year. Hardly high pressure selling.
Did that but the damned reminder just wouldn't stop popping up. Not high-pressure, to be sure - just irritating.
DM
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Tug Fanatic on May 15, 2020, 01:44:39 pm
Did that but the damned reminder just wouldn't stop popping up. Not high-pressure, to be sure - just irritating.
DM

Never had that happen.

Jaymac
I am looking at opening a small Natwest savings account to get the full version free. Thanks for the information. Can it be any account that has internet access or is it just if you have a current account?
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: jaymac on May 15, 2020, 03:08:40 pm
Not sure Tug  might be only online ones and it is only till at least 2022
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: RST on May 15, 2020, 08:57:19 pm
Just to say I'm with RBS and RBS and Natwest are essentially the same apart from name these days.  I'm being punted the same from RBS at the moment.  Beware Greeks bearing gifts.  There is absolutely no way you get anything for free, life just doesn't work like that.  Once bitten twice shy with this company's free software offers.  Been there got the T-shirt and burned it afterwards and took proper protection.  I'm not knocking malwarebytes at all.  I swear by it -I changed to it proper when Kaspersky got a little bit too much for what it offered, the bank has a history of not offering quite the same product for free, and full of bugs.  Just be careful of what you are looking for.  If you have internet banking, you are crazy not to have a decent security software in place anyway so the bank offers are a bit insulting.  Bit like RBS / Natwests other insurance policies.  Not opening up a debate but just be weary I'd say!


PS two similar threads running so perhaps benefit from amalgamation.



Rich
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Tug Fanatic on May 15, 2020, 09:51:38 pm
Agreed it doesn't work for me.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: justboatonic on May 18, 2020, 11:34:23 am
Malwarebytes is an excellent product. It is the only anti virus software I will use with Microsoft's rubbish operating system. It catches and removes virus' others do not.  Kaspersky? Russian crap, use it at your peril.
I run Linux OS on my laptop and only switch to Win 10 on a must need basis which is, thankfully, very, very rare. Linux doesnt really need AV but if you really want a belt and braces job, there is some out there for it.
https://linuxhint.com/why_no_antivirus_linux/
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: Tug Fanatic on May 18, 2020, 12:31:29 pm
Malwarebytes is an excellent product. It is the only anti virus software I will use with Microsoft's rubbish operating system. It catches and removes virus' others do not.  Kaspersky? Russian crap, use it at your peril.
I run Linux OS on my laptop and only switch to Win 10 on a must need basis which is, thankfully, very, very rare. Linux doesnt really need AV but if you really want a belt and braces job, there is some out there for it.
https://linuxhint.com/why_no_antivirus_linux/ (https://linuxhint.com/why_no_antivirus_linux/)

You may well be right about Linux but your comment on Kaspersky as "Russian Crap" is unfair to one of the best anti virus packages out there and enters the area of conspiracy theory.

The US may not trust it, but the United Nations does, and I am not inclined to accept the paranoia, nor the privacy invasion of non US citizens, practiced by the US govt. We don't know what information any software that we use collects about us but at least Kaspersky does a good job as an extended anti virus package..
Title: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: tr7v8 on June 15, 2020, 04:09:06 pm
Just had a warning flagged by Malawarebytes that this site is Malware with a tracker. Had to add it to the allowed list.
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: RMH on June 15, 2020, 04:41:17 pm
Yes I get that even after I have added it to the list
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: Martin [Admin] on June 15, 2020, 05:49:04 pm
 
Topics merged - I'll run another AV scan again tonight.


Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: tr7v8 on June 15, 2020, 08:02:36 pm
Just to add that I had Mayhem in my OK list but it was when I fired up the mayhem forum that it complained. That started tonight, I've now add the forum URL & it is OK.
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: RST on June 15, 2020, 08:18:41 pm
...check out any weblinks or posts pertaining to "shipspotting".  My malwarebytes just won't go anywhere near it and I've seen a few links back to it recently which has a knock-on effect through the forum for me.  I don't know what malwarebytes doesn't like about it but I can't get past it at all -even indirectly.  I've twigged recently those links  are giving me jip with virus checker.
Title: Re: Malwarebytes
Post by: justboatonic on June 15, 2020, 10:04:01 pm
You may well be right about Linux but your comment on Kaspersky as "Russian Crap" is unfair to one of the best anti virus packages out there and enters the area of conspiracy theory.

The US may not trust it, but the United Nations does, and I am not inclined to accept the paranoia, nor the privacy invasion of non US citizens, practiced by the US govt. We don't know what information any software that we use collects about us but at least Kaspersky does a good job as an extended anti virus package..
Apologies if you dont like my comment about Kaspersky. I base my comments on actually installing, configuring and using it. It was rubbish and caused far more conflicts on a number of pc's in the household than any other piece of AV software Ive ever used.

BTW, I worked in IT from the early 90s. I mention that just to show my background rather than any political, governmental association or off the top of my head comment.
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: Taranis on June 15, 2020, 10:26:17 pm
I just have a MacBook Air with no third party add ons. Never had any virus or malware issues ever.
Apple look after their users all in the purchase price. No new operating systems at upgrade cost, all free as long as your machine breathes
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: Martin [Admin] on June 15, 2020, 11:23:19 pm
 
Full AV scan complete - "No Virus Found".
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: RST on June 15, 2020, 11:36:48 pm
Quote
Apple look after their users all in the purchase price. No new operating systems at upgrade cost, all free as long as your machine breathes

...if you genuinely believe that then I admire you and wish you well on your way.  Reality check everyone else please?
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: dougal99 on June 16, 2020, 09:14:28 am
Just like Microsoft, older Apple machines will not run the latest OS or software.  :police:
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: Taranis on June 16, 2020, 09:58:59 am
How old is old? my original Mac air is 7 yrs and still going strong and starts up quick as a flash. Just this week it automatically updated the latest OS. In all that time I have not had to spend a penny on additional software and or antisocial slow your machine down rubbish  {-)
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: Tug Fanatic on June 16, 2020, 10:34:22 am
How old is old? my original Mac air is 7 yrs and still going strong and starts up quick as a flash. Just this week it automatically updated the latest OS. In all that time I have not had to spend a penny on additional software and or antisocial slow your machine down rubbish  {-)

I have a Windows laptop that is nearly 12 years old & it is on the latest Windows version & I have never used any software that cost me anything. It also cost a fraction of what an Apple would have cost. You pays your money and takes your choice.
Title: Re: Mayhem website being blocked by Malawarebytes.
Post by: Baldrick on June 16, 2020, 02:30:34 pm
...if you genuinely believe that then I admire you and wish you well on your way.  Reality check everyone else please?


  I got fed up with Windies and bought a Mac.   Started up running OS Mavericks , free upgrade to Yosemite, then El Capitan , skipped Sierra , but downloaded for High Sierra ,now running Mojave and Catalina is their on Ap store for free when I think it's settled and sorted all for free.What is this "reality check" thingy I need to check ?