Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Technical, Techniques, Hints, and Tips => The "Black Arts!" ( Electrics & Electronics ) => Topic started by: WayneV on March 26, 2008, 10:52:42 PM

Title: Graupner Tornado
Post by: WayneV on March 26, 2008, 10:52:42 PM
Firstly, hello all.
New to this Forum but this looks like the place to ask to get some decent feedback.

Ive just got myself a Graupner Tornado Hydroplane kit.
Was wondering what type of running gear you would recommend.

I want to go electric as I can then run it at more locations, and its cleaner...(ok so Im lazy)

I was thinking what motor you would recommend, speed controller, battery, and what prop you would recommend.

Would I be right in thinking a Graupner Speed 600 race would be ok or is that too much?
I could go brushless but I dont want to go too silly on price.

Cheers 
Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: Martin [Admin] on March 26, 2008, 11:06:47 PM
What does the kit recommend?

( PS. Was this the one on ebay? Good price!!! )
Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: WayneV on March 27, 2008, 07:45:59 AM
Hi

Ehehe, yeah it was the one off ebay.
I thought it was a good price to.

I haven't got the kit yet but I was thinking that as its an old stock model things may have moved on since then, or maybe somebody here has experience of a better setup.

cheers
Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: WayneV on April 01, 2008, 02:34:45 PM
Got the kit and all looks good.
Wanted one of these years ago... :D

The motor it recommends is obsolete so I have gone for the equivalent which is;
Graupner Speed 500 Race E part number 7306.
The motor specs are;
22500rpm
3.6-8.4v the kit recommends using it at 8.4v
No load 2.5A
Max current 17A
Stall current 85A

What do you recon for a speed controller?
I was thinking a M-Tronics Viper 40 with fuses either side at 30A rating. Any good or am I too big and a Viper 25 would do?
Sorry I'm a newb with electrics. :embarrassed:
Also is it ok to run it off the main battery as they recon its upto 12v or does it need a seperate power source?

Thanks for any help/advice, its much appreciated.  O0


Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: Martin [Admin] on April 01, 2008, 03:02:26 PM
A Viper 25 should be more than enough I would have though as long as you use a fuse.
The maximum motor current is 17Amps, any more than that and you are going to fry the motor anyway!

You shouldn't need an additional battery for the radio as the Viper 25 & 40 are good up to 12v (5-10 cells) and i believe that they shut down the power to the main motor when the voltage drops beyond a safe level.

Martin.
PS. Is there gonna be pictures of the build?

Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: Voyager on April 01, 2008, 04:17:52 PM
Nice to see you on the forum  O0

I'm the guy who sold it to you! It would be good if you start a build thread for us to watch!?!?

I was rather tempted to keep the Graupner Tornado back for myself, well I'll have to take the jump into fast electric one day  :-\


Voyager/otherwise known as: Thelocoweatheringshed on eBay
Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: WayneV on April 01, 2008, 11:47:34 PM
Thanks for the answers, really appreciated.
So I'm guessing with a Viper 25 I would need a 25 amp fuse?

Hi to you Voyager, thanks for the flawless transaction.
I would recommend this guy anytime on Ebay, top seller.

I'll try and do some pics of the build, but I'm no David Bailey.
Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: Ghost in the shell on April 02, 2008, 12:24:10 AM
yep, put a 25A in, though you could put a 20 in as your motor only pulls 17
Title: Re: Graupner Tornado
Post by: WayneV on April 03, 2008, 09:31:50 AM
Thanks for that Ghost!