Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 2 motors on 2 channel  (Read 1571 times)

surabaya

  • Guest
2 motors on 2 channel
« on: April 07, 2008, 11:16:52 PM »

I know this may have a simple answer, but here goes.
I have a 2 channel radio, 2 motors and 2 esc`s. I want to steer by the motors, no rudder.
What is the best way to set up.
I can only think to use one channel each, but then the left channel will be working side to side.
Any brainwaves?
Logged

grasshopper

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 740
  • Location: Lincolnshire!
    • A1 Hobbies Ltd.
Re: 2 motors on 2 channel
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2008, 11:32:49 PM »

There are mixers available that should let you run two esc's using the l/h stick for collective throttle and then vary it by steering with the r/h stick.
OR:
can you remove the right hand stick unit and rotate through 90' to make two vertical sticks - bearing in mind it will invalidate any guarantee
Logged

FullLeatherJacket

  • Guest
Re: 2 motors on 2 channel
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2008, 11:40:19 PM »

Logged

Faraday's Cage

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 332
  • Change is inevitable, except from a drinks machine
  • Location: Staffordshire
Re: 2 motors on 2 channel
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2008, 09:08:57 AM »

Quote
I can only think to use one channel each, but then the left channel will be working side to side.
Any brainwaves?

Can the rudder gimbal in the tx be removed and turned 90 degrees to give you somethin' similar to tank control. Just a thought

FC
Logged

FullLeatherJacket

  • Guest
Re: 2 motors on 2 channel
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2008, 09:28:55 AM »

I'm trying very hard to remember the last time I handled a 2-channel Tx whose sticks weren't actually integral with the case moulding. I think it was a Launch Link............... :o
You could, of course, go Googling for single-axis sticks and a suitable ali case to refit the whole lot in, but the expense would far outweigh that of a mixer or possibly even a four-channel radio.
The answer's already there.
Suit yourself.
FLJ
Logged

chas

  • Guest
Re: 2 motors on 2 channel
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 09:41:24 AM »

I've tried the tank control method some time ago, it was in a light model and I didn't like it at all. Because the model was light it was quick to respond to the changes in motor speed ans was a pig to make go in a strait line. Every time the wind caught it the model was all over the place. For me a mixer was the answer, and no modification of the TX was needed.
Chas
Logged

surabaya

  • Guest
Re: 2 motors on 2 channel
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 11:12:39 PM »

Sounds like a mixer without the rudder connected then, or maybe with the servo connected to the trim rudder, witch is already mounted in the centre.
OR maybe the missus will understand the need for a new 4 channel jobbie ;D with a little persuasion. :D
Time for a decision.
Suppose it depends on the amount of persuasion needed
Logged

pakirk

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
  • Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
    • www.rcmodelworkshop.com
Re: 2 motors on 2 channel
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2008, 10:51:07 PM »

You want a prop Mixer.


http://www.rcmodelworkshop.com/propmix.html

Regards
Anthony
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up