Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cutting Die cut ply  (Read 2866 times)

inverclyde-ted

Cutting Die cut ply
« on: April 10, 2008, 02:44:42 pm »

Hello

As a total beginner, and just started my first build I am already seeking help. My model has several sheets of die cut 1.5mm ply partially cut which will form pieces like deck, combings, bulwark caps etc. Perhaps wrongly I assumed an easy way to cut out these parts would be to use a small but sturdy modeling scalpel as some of the parts have curves. After about n hour and only about 3 inches cut out of the deck section I am wondering if I am wrong and there is another way of doing this.
Has anyone any suggestions
Cheers
Jim

banjo

Re: Cutting Die cut ply
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2008, 02:53:54 pm »

:)

If you tell us which kit you are building it will help folk help you...

Fear not..there will be someone who knows...

O0

inverclyde-ted

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2008, 04:31:29 pm »

Sorry, Its a Caldercraft "Cumbrae" Pilot Cutter, I don't want to screw it up right from the start

StarLocAdhesives/FiveStar

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2008, 06:46:14 pm »

Normaly die cut balsa/ply is cut to just leave a tiny bit at the back, sand the rear of the part sheets and it should release them (if its fully die cut)

Colin Bishop

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2008, 06:59:04 pm »

You may be better off with a heavier blade such as Stanley Knife. If you use a sharp new blade carefully it should do the job as you can put more pressure on it.

Colin

barriew

• Full Mayhemer
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2008, 01:08:26 pm »

Normaly die cut balsa/ply is cut to just leave a tiny bit at the back, sand the rear of the part sheets and it should release them (if its fully die cut)