Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need speed controller  (Read 1949 times)

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Need speed controller
« on: April 14, 2008, 06:54:29 PM »

I need a speed controller with a BEC for a Graupner speed 400 motor.

Specification

Nominal voltage 7,2 V
Operating voltage range 3,6 ... 8,4 V
No-load rpm 16400 min–1
No-load current drain 0,5 A
Current drain at max. efficiency 3,3 A
Current drain when stalled 21 A

What nice simple one should I get, bearing in mind once I get it in place I wont be able to see it. Also need something small, not forgetting cheap. O0
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

Peterm

  • Inactive
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 419
  • Location: Southam,Warwickshire
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 07:03:40 PM »

Richard,  Mtronics Viper 15 and a 10 amp fuse.  Apologies to FLJ.  Pete M
Logged
I`m not just old, I`m ancient

J.beazley

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 877
  • The building never ends
  • Location: Locks Heath, Hampshire
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2008, 07:29:51 PM »

yep have to agree with Pete its what i use for my Graupner 400 in my Tenby lifeboat never let me down YET O0

Jay
Logged
If it floats I'll  build it, if it sinks its a sub either way its in the water so I'm content.

John W E

  • I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,504
  • Location: South shields
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2008, 08:16:14 PM »

Dicky my mate;

some Company called ACTion - I think its called ACTion its run by a canny owld "xxxxx"  :D :D
{-) actually do a small BEC - if I remember this rightly - it comes in a canny little case ya nar - its about 1 3/4 long x 1 1/4 wide x 3/4 inch deep - its geet light ya nar.  {-) {-)

Or, ya nar that other company - the one I get rang for mentionnin - they dee a brick ya nar - with a BEC built in, like ya nar.

If it were me - I would garn see the owld grumpy canny little owld man at ACTion I think its called ACTion and buy one of his BECs.

There is a voltage limited  or even an input voltage limit - something like 18 volts - but best ask the owld man ya nar.

aye
john e
bluebird

 O0 O0 O0 :D {-) :o ::)
Logged

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2008, 09:04:22 PM »

Gordon bennet can I have a translation.



Be ddiawl mae o yn ei ddeud??????


Stavros
Logged

John W E

  • I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,504
  • Location: South shields
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2008, 09:07:32 PM »

wooo Stavros, it will cost ya  {-) {-) {-) {-)

translation from Geordie into English divvent come free ya nar.

aye
john e
bluebird
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2008, 09:10:58 PM »

Dicky my mate;

some Company called ACTion - I think its called ACTion its run by a canny owld "xxxxx"  :D :D
{-) actually do a small BEC - if I remember this rightly - it comes in a canny little case ya nar - its about 1 3/4 long x 1 1/4 wide x 3/4 inch deep - its geet light ya nar.  {-) {-)

Or, ya nar that other company - the one I get rang for mentionnin - they dee a brick ya nar - with a BEC built in, like ya nar.

If it were me - I would garn see the owld grumpy canny little owld man at ACTion I think its called ACTion and buy one of his BECs.

There is a voltage limited  or even an input voltage limit - something like 18 volts - but best ask the owld man ya nar.

aye
john e
bluebird

 O0 O0 O0 :D {-) :o ::)

A re you sure about the size John, thats about twice thew size of my 50amp one  :-\
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

John W E

  • I see no ships !!
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8,504
  • Location: South shields
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2008, 09:32:57 PM »

Hi there Dicky

I think best check with the man at ACTion - because the one I have - its that old Noah and I used it on the Ark for the Dove Catapult launch motor servo.  {-)

aye
John e
bluebird
Logged

barriew

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,009
  • Location: Thaxted, Essex
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2008, 08:30:43 AM »

Dicky,

The Mtroniks one is good, but you do have to be able to reach it when fitted to set it up - you said you wouldn't be able to see it when fitted.

Barrie
Logged

DickyD

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9,497
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
  • Location: Southampton UK
    • SRCMBC
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #9 on: April 15, 2008, 08:38:33 AM »

Right theres not a lot of room and it will have to go under the fore deck which is not removable.
Really need one that sets itself up.
Have got one but it is too big. Did have it at rear of boat, but not enough room and to heavy.
Logged
Richard Solent Radio Controlled Model Boat Club http://www.srcmbc.org.uk

Ghost in the shell

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,707
  • Go Nuclear! you'll love it
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2008, 11:11:26 PM »

Dicky, that Proboat will be ok, just shove it up fo'ard
Logged
"xxxxx" the tree huggers, GO NUCLEAR

red181

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,736
  • Location: Wirral
Re: Need speed controller
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2008, 11:54:01 PM »

get yourself on ebay, plenty there! O0
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up