Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Camber Query  (Read 2555 times)

GaryM

Camber Query
« on: May 19, 2008, 11:11:59 pm »

Hi
I'm just starting to fit the deck supports for my Marie Felling.  There's no helpful reference to this in the instructions.  (for a complete beginner - none I can see, but I've been wrong before!)
As posted in an earlier post, I was concerned about a 4mm "safety" margin which the instructions say to incorporate around the outside of the pre printed deck underlay.
This I dually did, but found that even without this 4mm safety margin, the "printed" outline was still some way over the physical dimensions of the boat.  Mayhem'ers posted most helpful replies, and these made it clear for the way ahead.

Until tonight, when I was messing around with my rudder.
I noticed that there was a camber from 'Stern to Bow' (front to back)  ???

Two 90 degree cambers to contend with.
I have attached  - 'A VERY ROUGH photo'  (fingers crossed and knotted; it is legible)

I did some research and found an excellent build log by "Kazkasi" that showed the "deck" level was approx 29mm below the top edge of the side - this gives a deffinate camber front to back.

Being a beginner, should I go for length camber - I think I should - I don't think I could cope with the two?  :-\

If there's a scientific reply, I'll try to understand it :angel:

regards
Gary :)

toesupwa

• Full Mayhemer
  • USA'd ex Brit
Re: Camber Query
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 11:57:32 pm »

Being a beginner, should I go for length camber - I think I should - I don't think I could cope with the two?  :-\

I think most small tugs have camber bow to stern (down in the middle, Side view) AND side to side (up in the middle, Rear / front view)...

As you have shown on your drawing Gary  O0

Ron1

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 11:58:28 pm »