Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 280s, ESC and volts?  (Read 1239 times)

tobyker

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,315
  • Location: Scotland - West Coast
280s, ESC and volts?
« on: May 17, 2008, 02:26:32 PM »

I am building a slow scale-ish workboat. I don't want it to go fast. I have on hand two MFA 280 motors, marked as 1.5 to 3 volts, a viper 15 ESC, and a pair of lightweight 6" prop shafts with 3-bladed 30mm props.

Will the ESC work on 3v (I suspect most of these things need 5v to drive them)

Will the MFA 280 take a 6v supply if not asked for lots of full throttle?

If both are no, then I'll go the 3v and microswitch route. I don't particularly want to spend money on this model.

Logged

roycv

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,339
  • Location: S.W. Herts
Re: 280s, ESC and volts?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 02:48:13 PM »

Hi, does the viper ESC have a top speed adjustment?  I know the Electronize ones do.  If so just set the top speed to about half speed and you should be O.K.
regards Roy 
Logged

FullLeatherJacket

  • Guest
Re: 280s, ESC and volts?
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2008, 03:01:31 PM »

Tobyker
PM on its way.
FLJ
Logged

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: 280s, ESC and volts?
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2008, 04:32:45 PM »

Normally an ESC requires a minimum voltage of 4.8 to work the control electronics, same as a servo and the RX.  Some ESCs MAY allow use of a lower motor supply battery, but this is the sort of thing that needs querying with the manufacturer, and willingness and/or ability to reply may vary.
I don't normally recommend wiring motors in series, but this could be a valid case.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

Shipmate60

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,276
  • You bark - I will bite!!!
  • Location: Fareham
Re: 280s, ESC and volts?
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2008, 06:19:10 PM »

tobyker,
You are going to need a min 4.8 volts to run the radio.
As said not my choice but you could run the motors in series.
Or even consider stripping out a servo to use the motor and electronice as a speed controller.
How big is your model?

Bob
Logged
Officially a GOG.

tobyker

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,315
  • Location: Scotland - West Coast
Re: 280s, ESC and volts?
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2008, 07:58:05 PM »

A man apparently dressed for motorcycling has twisted my arm in a friendly fashion and I shall be speaking to him on the electric telephone on Monday. This will apparently solve all (or some of) my problems.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up