Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: smit crew  (Read 2891 times)

dogbone

smit crew
« on: August 08, 2008, 12:33:10 am »

hi to all
a newbie here just starting his first kit.
i have just taken delivery of a smit nederland. opened the box and checked all the parts and bags of bits. alls ok. but i thought it might look a little bit better if it had a crew members. so before i start to build does anyone know where you can get figures of the same scale to dot around the deck.
they would have to be propper boat crew of course. not the type of motor cruiser passenger and the like.
any ideas you lot.
 O0

riggers24

• Full Mayhemer
  • Just full of stupid questions
Re: smit crew
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2008, 12:45:00 am »

The Nederland is 1/33 so if you look around you can find figures close to that scale. I had a quick look on the web and found this

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SCALEXTRIC-1-32-LOT-OF-11-PIT-CREW-FIGURES_W0QQitemZ220266636407QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item220266636407&_trkparms=72%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C66%3A4%7C65%3A12&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14.l1318

Hope this helps

Riggers
I will finish the crash tender someday - Still got tooo many toys to play with

Reade Models

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2008, 06:43:40 am »

George Turner produces some very nice 1:32 figures which might not be too far out of scale?  Have a look at:

http://www.georgeturnermodels.com/index.php?page=shopping&shop_cat_id=20

Malc

bigford

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2008, 03:00:29 pm »

how about tamiya 1/35 military people. a little sanding

dogbone

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2008, 10:09:57 pm »

had a look at the Scalextric people could use them at a pinch. George turner looks like the way to go though.
as for the solders I'll have to look at ways of covering over an AK47 rifle first. theres no way you could make it look like a spanner.
thanks to all who replied.