Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New here and new to boating  (Read 2957 times)

grandad

New here and new to boating
« on: September 06, 2008, 01:50:32 pm »

Ya- Ta-Hay
I am new to Boat building, however I am not new to building I love to build models of any sort but for the past number of years I have been building 1/25 th model cars mostly revamping them to resemble dirt track racers! what we use to call skeeters back in the olden days! ::)
I am 65 years of age and I raced on our old dirt track with the likes of Firebal Roberts, Cotten Owens abd Lee Petty so I am well versed in dirt track racing lately though I have been having health problems and just got home from a two month stay in the hospital and nursing home
I had Divaticulitas and blew out my colon Twice once in ICU at the hospital therefore I am unable to get out to my hobby shop to work on models
as a homebound old retired newspsper man I am using this time to finish a history book of the Beards, Hawkins and harmons
A book that I have been working on for the past 54 years! now I am putting it together as a hard bound book and am doing it my self!!!!!!!
as far as buiilding boats______ I have in my hands the plans for building a racing sail boat and as soon as I am able to get to my tools in my shop I am going to build her 
she measures 36 inches from bow to stern and her mast measures 4 inches from deck to top
wish me luck
Larry O0

barryfoote

Re: New here and new to boating
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2008, 03:22:00 pm »

larry,

Welcome to the forum. You should enjoy it. Full of helpful, friendly chaps and we love to see photos of any model, not just boats, so if you can, post them here and let those of us who know nothing about model cars, see what it is all about. Glad to hear you are on the road to recovery.

All the best to you,

Barry

DickyD

• Full Mayhemer
  • www.srcmbc.org.uk
    • SRCMBC