Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: can i switch to 24v ??  (Read 2503 times)

portside II

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,519
  • tugs at rest
  • Location: Howden.East Riding of Yorkshire.England Near the banks of the river Ouse
    • goole model boat club indi site
can i switch to 24v ??
« on: September 15, 2008, 10:58:03 PM »

Right ,planning a spot of tugging this weekend at balne moor and it was mentioned why dont i switch over to 24v from 12v,sounds simple just switch the wiring over on the two 12v 12a batts and away you go  ??? or is it .
Several members on the forum will give me the best way round it ,so please tell me before i blow something up.
Tug Brakengarth M.M.M. with old type motor 12-36v  will be ok .
ESC Electronize 30a rated to 24v .
Reciever hitec supplied by battery or --Action BEC ??? will it handle 24v Dave??
Sound unit J.J.C turbo cat diesel ???.
Without getting the destruction manuals out can i just switch over to 24v? .
daaaaazzzz
(a bit worried about the blue smoke effect)
Logged
I like to build my boats to play with, not to just look pretty,so they dont !

FullLeatherJacket

  • Guest
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2008, 11:25:58 PM »

Action BEC ??? will it handle 24v Dave??

The absolute maximum voltage for the P19/P92 on-board regulator is 26v, so you will be over the limit with fully charged lead-acids (up to 30v).

I have no info on the voltages which the JJC unit can handle, I'm afraid.

FLJ
Logged

RantandRave

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 530
  • ...don't get me started!
  • Location: Middle England.....
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2008, 11:41:11 PM »

You will need a different BEC or separate radio batteries as "ACTion - P19 BEC 1A BATTERY ELIMINATOR."
 "For operation on 6 to 12 Volt main power pack. 1 Amp output capability."

The motor will be revving much faster, you may need to re-prop or you could overload the motor.
Not sure what voltage the JJC unit will go up to but 24v sounds a bit high.
Also if you have any bulbs or pumps you'll cater for them too.

You maybe better off running the motor off 24v if you want to and running everything else of an additional 12v smaller battery.....
Logged

Reade Models

  • Guest
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2008, 06:19:46 AM »


Your JJC sound unit is rated to 18Volts maximum - you may well damage it by running it on 24Volts.

Regards, Malc

(Ex supplier of JJC units)

Logged

Bunkerbarge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,359
  • Location: Halifax, UK
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2008, 07:37:21 AM »

You orginally ask why shouldn't you do it but my question would be why would you want to? Doubling your motor speed is going to have a couple of significant concerns as regards whether you running gear can handle it such as stern tube, rudders etc.  You are almost certainly going to have to change the propeller because cavitation will quite possibly be a problem.  Tug performance though is all about getting the power into the water and doubling the speed of the motor will not help you with that.  It will also make sensitive slow speed control more difficult, also an important aspect of tug work.

As Malc says, you will fry te JJC unit as well, so I would leave it well alone.

Logged
"Dirty British coaster with a salt-caked smoke stack, Butting through the Channel in the mad March days"

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,564
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2008, 11:57:28 AM »

If the speed control has a built-in BEC, read the spec. very carefully.  Just disconnecting the red wire will have no useful effect as the internal BEC will still be running off the 24V battery, and might not be happy about it.  You will still need a battery to run the "other stuff".
The increase in power should not be a problem as long as you remember that the speed control stick does have more positions than Off, Full Forward and Full Reverse.  Its just a question of learning to drive it properly. 
Whether the ESC, wiring and drive train can stand the extra power is another question.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

portside II

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,519
  • tugs at rest
  • Location: Howden.East Riding of Yorkshire.England Near the banks of the river Ouse
    • goole model boat club indi site
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2008, 02:44:56 PM »

Ok thanks lads , i think i will stick to 12v as some of  the components within the tug are capable of handling 24v and some are not .To seperate these would be time consuming  ,this was only an idea as some of the tug lads are using 24v so there must be something in it .
daz
feeling a bit better now .
Logged
I like to build my boats to play with, not to just look pretty,so they dont !

nightowl2912

  • Guest
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2008, 06:03:05 PM »

hi, you can run the esc on 24v and run everthink else off 12v

Andy
Logged

poll

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 945
  • Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire.
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2008, 09:17:55 PM »

Hi Daz, Stick to 12v mate if you come to Balne Moor you will not be in a race, Nice and easy do's it,
Most lads are on 12v some on 6v you will be OK.
Cheers

John
         PS Hope Bunkerbarge comes and takes some Photo's
Logged

portside II

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,519
  • tugs at rest
  • Location: Howden.East Riding of Yorkshire.England Near the banks of the river Ouse
    • goole model boat club indi site
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2008, 12:17:21 AM »

Cheers John , see you there.
daz
Logged
I like to build my boats to play with, not to just look pretty,so they dont !

Bunkerbarge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,359
  • Location: Halifax, UK
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #10 on: September 17, 2008, 08:45:08 AM »

Hi Daz, Stick to 12v mate if you come to Balne Moor you will not be in a race, Nice and easy do's it,
Most lads are on 12v some on 6v you will be OK.
Cheers

John
         PS Hope Bunkerbarge comes and takes some Photo's

I'm afraid I only got back home yesterday so I'm not sure if I've missed any thing or not.  If you tell me a bit about Balne Moor, i.e. where and when etc I might just venture up there one day.  I'm always looking for new subjects!!
Logged
"Dirty British coaster with a salt-caked smoke stack, Butting through the Channel in the mad March days"

poll

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 945
  • Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire.
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #11 on: September 17, 2008, 07:05:57 PM »

Hi Bunkerbarge,  The Venue is Balne Moor m.b.c. Tug  Towing on the 20th September. The Scale
Steering is on the 21st Sep. Both 10.30am  start. To get there M62 take the exit at junction 34
turn towards Doncaster on the A19 Through the village of Whitley, 300 yards out of the village turn
left sign posted for Balne.  pollington. and Snaith. follow road for 1 mile you then pass under the east coast main line railway bridge, Indicate right slow down turn into pond area O0
Regards

John
Logged

Wiggy

  • Guest
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #12 on: September 17, 2008, 07:21:48 PM »

Hi Bunkerbarge,

You just beat me to it John,lol. Was just writing a reply myself.
Give either myself or 'Poll' a PM if you want anymore details.
Post code DN14 0EL.

Cheers,

Paul.
Logged

Bunkerbarge

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,359
  • Location: Halifax, UK
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2008, 09:23:39 PM »

Thanks gents, I might be unavailable this weekend, but if not I might just pop over to say hello.
Logged
"Dirty British coaster with a salt-caked smoke stack, Butting through the Channel in the mad March days"

portside II

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,519
  • tugs at rest
  • Location: Howden.East Riding of Yorkshire.England Near the banks of the river Ouse
    • goole model boat club indi site
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2008, 09:36:35 PM »

Hi Paul i thought about bringing tug 500 with me  on saturday aparently (not from me) it would make a good match with your tug ,what do you think.
 
But it will be nice to put some faces to people and its given a realy good forcast for the weekend .
daz
Never posted a video on here , hope its right  :angel:
Logged
I like to build my boats to play with, not to just look pretty,so they dont !

Wiggy

  • Guest
Re: can i switch to 24v ??
« Reply #15 on: September 18, 2008, 09:57:44 PM »

Hi Daz,

Mmm....don't know what your on about your tug 500  being a match with mine, yours is sophisticated ::), has windows and things in the wheelhouse,lol. I told Ken Daniels that I had ordered the weather a few weeks ago O0 and should be a gentle breeze along the lake to help with berthing  {-). Hopefully will be a good day and looking forward to some good towing.
See you all there.

Paul.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up