Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Revell Flower Class Corvette for the Rookie.  (Read 12446 times)

RoyP

Revell Flower Class Corvette for the Rookie.
« on: October 24, 2008, 12:13:52 pm »

As suggested elsewhere thought I would start a new build thread for the Revell 1/72 Flower Class Corvette kit, as a complete beginner perhaps it will also help those in a similar position who’s boat building experience is zero.
And from the raw beginner’s point of view I will be asking lots of questions, which to some may seem obvious so I apologise before I start.

Made a start by putting the hull together and making good the joins etc, now come the questions:

Have an MFA-385 6volt motor and from what I have learnt from elsewhere this will be suitable, but what battery would be recommended and how long a run time?

Is the kit propeller suitable and what type of prop shaft, what are the benefits of with or without an oiler tube?

Looking at people’s models it seems some have a planked deck and some have a mixture of steel and wood.
According to the ‘Pearson’ site and I quote - The first RN Flowers had wood on the bow forward of the 4" platform, in the focsle break and aft around the depthcharge throwers as seen in this drawing of HMS Begonia. Other wood could be seen on the bridge and boat decks.

Now this is where I really show my ignorance where is the focsle break, whereabouts aft and boat decks, guidance would be appreciated.

To remove the planking is it fine emery and elbow grease also is it an idea to remove the various bollard etc locators.

Thanks,
Roy.

Bunkerbarge

• Full Mayhemer
Re: Revell Flower Class Corvette for the Rookie.
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2008, 01:17:26 pm »