Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A few newbie questions on recommended books  (Read 3405 times)

mogogear

A few newbie questions on recommended books
« on: December 08, 2008, 01:07:44 am »

As I am brand new to ship building , I would like to know is there a "best  of" recommended model-building books from the group? I have my plans and noticed  it has solid bulkheads. So I assume I will go with plank on frame and then fiberglass over . There is no keel shown in the plans - and this puzzles me on how to hold these building blocks in place as I add the hull.

I am a little unsure how to arrange the bulkheads on my build board ( if that is what you call it :embarrassed:) ? Do I make them taller than called for so the extra edge can be clamped  in place and then cut off later?  Just to make my first build as challenging as I can it is the Turbinia from Charles Sells(Traplet ME3355) So no mast and rigging but some fun to be had with the aft end and prop shafts.....

Did I mention that I am dreaming of steam turbine power if I can?

So thanks for your recommendations- Please note that if there are any good "picture" illustrated guides that is a real plus...

tigertiger

• Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
Re: A few newbie questions on recommended books
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 09:41:25 am »

Have a look at Traplet publishing. https://shop.traplet.com/browse.aspx?c=4433

They have a sale on at the moment.

They have a wide range of books on marine modelling. they also have two workshop DVD
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask

RickF

• Full Mayhemer
  • Black, white and buff - not grey!
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 10:53:32 am »

If the vessel has no keel, it will probably be best to build it "upside down".