Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sealing liteply.  (Read 3302 times)

zetec

• Full Mayhemer
Sealing liteply.
« on: September 23, 2006, 07:19:21 pm »

I'm new to wooden hull construction. I'm building a police launch from liteply. Should I seal the wood with anything as I go along? I'm getting to the point were I will be covering the bottom and sides and wont be able to varnish (?) some areas if I dont now. I'm using superglue if that makes any difference.

Cheers.

dougal99

• Full Mayhemer
  • Huntingdon, Cambs, England
Re: Sealing liteply.
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2006, 09:02:51 pm »

Zetec

Ideally you shouldn't need to seal the inside as your hull will be waterproof when its finished won't it :)

However, the world is far from ideal and model boats are no different. Give the inaccessible surfaces a coat of varnish (make sure its waterproof as some aren't) or sanding sealer as it will do no harm and stop water absorption should you get a leak. Be sure to leave the edges you are going to glue free from sealent.

Happy building
Don't Assume Check

croakle

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 07:35:01 am »

Zetec

Good advice from Dougal.  Also be careful about the choice of sanding sealer; if it's shelac based it's definately not waterproof.

Best wishes

Julian

CAD2

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2006, 09:38:11 am »

Zetec
The best stuff is undoubtedly a coating resin (epoxy or polyester) but a good, cheap substitute is thinned polyurethane varnish. It should be thin enough to soak into the liteply and set hard. A couple of coats will suffice.
CAD2

cbr900

• Full Mayhemer
  • Mayhem is the Only Forum!
    • Roys Hompage
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2006, 01:46:17 pm »