Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Radar Motor  (Read 3053 times)

2772e

  • Simon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 452
  • The Sea Shall Not Have Them
  • Location: Colchester, Essex
Radar Motor
« on: September 24, 2006, 09:42:01 AM »

I need a motor than can run a radar, preferably without a gearbox, not remote and small. 10-15mm high by 10mm wide.

Also not sure of the correct rpm, i think about 30rpm?

I know someone has the answer.

Thanks

 ??? ???
Logged
Rubbin is Racin!

Daryl

  • Guest
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2006, 09:50:40 AM »

Not much help,but I have seen a radar with a motor/ gearbox and a flexable drive to the radar. Or you could have a chat with the folks at Model Power, they might have something or Westbourne Models.

Daryl
Logged

Welsh_Druid

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 389
  • Location: Lleyn Peninsular North Wales
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2006, 09:51:22 AM »

Logged

2772e

  • Simon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 452
  • The Sea Shall Not Have Them
  • Location: Colchester, Essex
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2006, 10:11:46 AM »

Great, thanks, just ordered one.

Love this forum!

 :D ;D
Logged
Rubbin is Racin!

chromedome

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 241
  • Location: scotland
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2006, 04:44:05 PM »

I have just converted a servo to turn 360degrees.This seems to be quite a popular method .It turns about 15rpm.

   chromedome
Logged

cbr900

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,870
  • Mayhem is the Only Forum!
  • Location: Taree New South Wales Australia
    • Roys Hompage
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2006, 07:48:48 PM »

What is the process for converting a servo to rotate 360 degrees...


Roy
Logged
I try not to be naughty but nautical

2772e

  • Simon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 452
  • The Sea Shall Not Have Them
  • Location: Colchester, Essex
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2006, 07:50:40 PM »

Hey Roy,

If you pop open the gearbox you can remove a small lug on one of the wheels. This will allow the motor to run 360.

Regards

Simon
Logged
Rubbin is Racin!

malcolmfrary

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5,568
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancs, UK
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2006, 08:29:36 PM »

You remove the lug from the output gear that would otherwise foult the ribs inside the top cover, then you enlarge the "D" shaped hole in the bottom of the gear so that it does not engage the position sensing pot.  Adjusting the pot also gives some measure of speed control if it is running off an RX channel.  Otherwise just remove the electronics board and connect the motor terminals to a battery, voltage of your choice, but I would say a max of 6v.
Logged
"With the right tool, you can break anything" - Garfield

chromedome

  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 241
  • Location: scotland
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2006, 08:51:16 PM »

1xAA1.5v will run it non stop for days!!

  chromedome
Logged

Daryl

  • Guest
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2006, 09:35:56 PM »

try putting modifying a servo in google and up pops quitea few pages from the robot enthusiasts.

www.kronosrobots.com
www.firstwiki.org/modifying_a_servo
www.acroname.com/robotics/info/ideas/continious/continious.html

These are only a few ifyou type in the model of the servo the liklyhood of amodpage ia quite good. Different typesofservo require different ways to modify. Some easy some hard.

Good luck
Daryl
Logged

2772e

  • Simon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 452
  • The Sea Shall Not Have Them
  • Location: Colchester, Essex
Re: Radar Motor
« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2006, 07:47:34 PM »

Just got the motor from FastComponents.

Perfect, thanks for your help guys!

 ;)
Logged
Rubbin is Racin!
Pages: [1]   Go Up