Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Help for a Newby  (Read 4776 times)

royalhussar

Help for a Newby
« on: March 28, 2010, 03:29:54 pm »

Hey all, great forum.

I have dabbled with a couple of electric speed boats in the past, but I'm now considering a dive into something scale......trouble is, i want to try something a little different.
OK, i REALLY like Vosper Perkasa's, but (call it odd) i love the mechanics of jet drives.........so i kinda want to combine the 2.
I wondered if anyone on this part of the forum could recommend a nice, entry level model,  to give you guys an idea of my background, I am an experienced static model builder, and have 28 years experience with radio controlled cars. I also run a team games business with a fleet of Tamiya r/c tanks, so am fairly sturdy when it comes to model mechanics.
1/32 scale seems to be the popular choice for these boats, i don't want to buy a top of the range kit as obviously its going to be a wee bit experimental, but i would still like it to be a looker.
Any help gratefully received, and trust me, i shall be perusing the "newby" and "how to" sections of the forum while i wait!!
Cheers all
John

andyn

Re: Help for a Newby
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2010, 04:34:02 pm »

Sorry, I'm not much help when it comes to jet drives, but when it comes to Perkasa hulls I may be able to help. Our club is selling a 36" Glassfibre hulled one. Price I do not know but if you're interested get in touch with me and I'll find out more.

Welcome to the forum...

royalhussar

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2010, 09:27:17 pm »

Hey Andyn,
cheers for the response, don't worry, i posted in this section purely coz i was after info about the Perkasa, I'll pick the brains of the guys in the "mechanics"section about the jets etc........would really appreciate a little more info on the kits your club is selling if thats OK.....cheers
John

rsm