Model Boat Mayhem

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: 18v dewalt drill motor  (Read 15536 times)

cassf1

18v dewalt drill motor
« on: March 26, 2009, 10:13:03 pm »

Hi all

I am new to RC and have a few questions i hope someone can help with, i have decided to use a old drill motor for my build its from 18v dewalt drill so i think should have plenty of power to run bait boat I'm building.

One question is if i use with 12v lead acid battery how many amp ESC do you think i will need. (speed controller and battery from drill not available)

Also i plan on using 6v battery for the receiver as i been told not good idea to use 12v for this (RX has BEC), am i right i thinking that all i would need to do is cut the red wire from the ESC before this plugs into RX

thanks for any help Craig

OMK

Re: 18v dewalt drill motor
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2009, 12:59:46 am »

"Also i plan on using 6v battery for the receiver as i been told not good idea to use 12v for this (RX has BEC)..."

If you intend running the receiver from 6 volts, I'd recommend that you remove or by-pass the on-board drop-down voltage regulator (BEC) from the receiver itself.
If you intend to run the receiver from 12 volts, then leave the regulator intact since its job is to reduce the 12v input down the Rx's working voltage of 5 or 6 volts. (Bear in mind that the BEC itself needs as many as 2 or 3 volts from your battery, which means a BEC receiver needs at least 8 or 9 volts in order to operate... which in turn means your 6-volt battery would not be enough juice unless the BEC gubbins is by-passed first.)
The major downside to using an Rx with BEC is that the receiver will become useless once your main 12 battery is depleted, whereas a separate four-cell or five-cell battery supply for an Rx without BEC will at least allow you to still work the rudder if you should get into a bit of a pickle.