Model Boat Mayhem - Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Servo spline dia  (Read 1516 times)

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Servo spline dia
« on: April 23, 2009, 04:04:48 PM »

Took my Yamaha RTW down to the pond today - first time on the water.
The servo was not performing - the splined shaft was revolving within the servo horn, I thought that I had somehow stripped the splines
When I got back home, I found the dia. of the splined shaft in the boat was 5.68mm, the horn 5.82.
Now where in the world do I get a double ended horn (22.5cms) with a drive dia of 5.68? or do I have to make my own ?

Any thoughts please

Colin

(New to sail)
Logged
Colin

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,112
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Servo spline dia
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 04:45:09 PM »

It there a make and model No. on ther servo?
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Re: Servo spline dia
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2009, 05:31:30 PM »

Hello Martin

The servo is a Sail Control Hi Tec HS-765HB
The control horn came with the boat.
Already I am thinking that I can epoxy a ' correct ' horn onto my twin arm Yamaha horn, maybe reinforce it with brass pins.
Do they really make different diameters for splined shafts, and if so, WHY.

Colin
Logged
Colin

Stavros

  • Guest
Re: Servo spline dia
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2009, 06:14:12 PM »

WOAH Futaba,Acoms,Hitech are all different splines.Try Mark at A modle World and he will sort you out



Stav
Logged

Martin [Admin]

  • Administrator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19,112
  • Location: Peterborough, UK
    • Model Boat Mayhem
Re: Servo spline dia
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2009, 06:36:38 PM »

Hi Colin,
Most servo manufactures have proprietary servo output shafts and splines, all you need to do is purchase the correct servo arm for you Hitec HS-765HB - ( http://www.servocity.com/html/hs-765hb_sail_arm.html ). As this is a specialist sail arm servo, instead of just buying a set of generic Hitec servo arms and find they don't fit, it may be worth ordering the correct arm and save yourself a lot of bother.
- http://www.servocity.com/html/56361_standard_spline.html - Inspect the output shaft and splines first for damage.


http://www.amodelworld.co.uk/
Logged
"This is my firm opinion, but what do I know?!"    -   Mayhem FaceBook Group!

sinjon

  • Sinjon
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
  • Model Bioat Mayhem Forum is the Best!
  • Location: Stoke-sub-Hamdon, Somerset, TA14 6UF
Re: Servo spline dia
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2009, 08:22:18 PM »

Still confused, but at least I think I am heading in the right direction, I thought sail was a doddle !!
Thanks Stav & Martin
I am away in France (Honfleur) for a few days, so I will try to get my head around it when I get back.

Colin


Logged
Colin

andyn

  • Guest
Re: Servo spline dia
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2009, 08:37:09 PM »

You simply need a Futaba / Hitec Servo horn. I beleive what you have is an acoms horn, who were stupid and decided to fit sillysize servo tops...
Logged

tigertiger

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Mayhemer
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7,037
  • Location: Kunming, city of eternal springtime, SW China.
Re: Servo spline dia
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2009, 03:22:14 PM »

I would strongly recommend getting the correct Hitec servo horn for that particular model of servo.

I have had issues using a Futaba servo horn (from Futaba standard servo) on a Futaba sail arm servo.
The sail arms are slightly different. It may be materials, or as you found a slightly different diameter.

If you have the original 'star' that came with the servo, you can make your own arm that you then screw on to the star. This arm can be made from a bit of suitable plastic.

See photo in reply#15 on this thread http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=2716.0
Logged
The only stupid question is the one I didn't ask
Pages: [1]   Go Up